MARSHALL COUNTY PLANNING & ZONING COMMISSION

Proposed Agenda

Regular Scheduled Meeting July 8, 2025–9:00 AM Marshall County Courthouse, Commissioners Chambers

- I. Call to Order
- II. Roll Call
- III. Approval of Agenda
- IV. Review & Approval of Minutes from June 17, 2025
- V. Matters for Board Discussion
- VI. Open
- VII. Disclosure of Conflicts/Ex Parte Communication
- VIII. New Business:

A. Variance – MJ & Emily Hrabik

- 1) Staff report by E. Collins-Miles
- 2) Open Public hearing
 - a) Discuss new developments
 - b) Testimony from applicant
 - c) Testimony from proponents and opponents
 - d) Applicant back up for questions (if needed)
- 3) Close public hearing
- 4) Boards Discussion
 - a) Questions for audience (No new topics to be discussed)
 - b) P & Z Boards motion and roll call for vote for recommendation to County Commission

B. Drainage - Colby Olson

- 1) Reported by E. Collins-Miles
- 2) Open Public hearing
 - a) Discuss new developments
 - b) Testimony from applicant
 - c) Testimony from proponents and opponents
 - d) Applicant back up for questions (if needed)
- 3) Close public hearing
- 4) Boards Discussion
 - a) Questions for audience (No new topics to be discussed)
- 5) Drainage Board motion and roll call for vote

C. Plats

a. Erickson's Second Subdivision

 a) Plat of Erickson's Second Subdivision in the SW1/4 of Section 29, T125N, R58W of the 5th P.M., Marshall County, South Dakota

IX. Building Permits

X. Other

- A. Lakeview Dr.
- B. Miscellaneous items
- XI. Old Business
- XII. Adjourn

MARSHALL COUNTY PLANNING & ZONING BOARD PO BOX 9 BRITTON, SOUTH DAKOTA UNAPPROVED MINUTES June 17, 2025

The Marshall County Planning & Zoning Board met at 9:00 AM, at the North Marshall Firehall Meeting Room. Present at the hearing were the following Board members; Matthew Schuller, Doug Medhaug, Jason Bender, Lynda Luttrell and Andrea Kilker. Commissioner Schuller presided. Others present at the hearing were Erin Collins-Miles - Planning & Zoning, Megan Biel - Auditor, Victor Rapkoch - Marshall County States Attorney, Randy & Jackie Lien, Valorie & Robert Tchida, David Geyer, Michael Nelson, Neil Foote, Wayne J. Nelson, Joel Erickson, Jeff Roehr, Donnell Hanson and Logan Roehr.

AGENDA:

Kilker motioned; Medhaug seconded to approve the agenda. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

MINUTES:

Medhaug motioned; Bender seconded to approve the minutes from June 3, 2025. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

VARIANCE: receive

Regarding a Variance for Randy Lien; Geyer, spoke on behalf of the Lien family. Tchida spoke in favor of the structure and how it is viewed via boat. Luttrell motioned; Kilker seconded to deny the application. No roll call vote was taken. A substitute motion was made by Kilker; seconded by Bender to postpone the application until the High-Water mark is found. The next meeting date will be determined once this is complete; for the requested 50' variance for a deck to the normal high-water mark setback; per the Marshall County Zoning Ordinance and to adopt the facts and the recommended findings of the Planning Commission listed in the staff report. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Aye, Kilker – Aye, Bender – Aye, Schuller - Aye. Motion carried.

Regarding a Variance for Rick Hofland; Medhaug motioned; Bender seconded to approve the requested 55' variance to the shoreline width requirement for lot(s) 3A/3WA and a 38.47' (exact) variance to the road frontage requirement for Lot 3B. This motion allows the Lots to be platted as requested by the applicant and is granted noting that other similar variances have been approved in the past and that this situation falls under special conditions and circumstances, per the Marshall County Zoning Ordinance; and to adopt the facts and the recommended findings of the Planning Commission listed in the staff report. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Aye, Kilker – Aye, Bender – Aye, Schuller - Aye. Motion carried.

CONDITIONAL USE:

A motion and roll call vote were taken to approve an application for a Conditional Use from the Marshall County Zoning Ordinance for Holland Bros. Oil Company for Dakota Storage to display and sell storage sheds on the property described as Lot "A" of Government Lot 4, Lot 1 of Johnson's Subdivision in the SW1/4 and A tract of land beginning at the SE corner of Lot "A" of Gov't Lot 4, thence due E200', thence due N220', thence due W205', thence South along the east side of lot "A" to the point of beginning, all in Gov't Lot 4, Section 19, T127N, R57W: all of Section 19, T127N, R57W. Bender motioned; Luttrell seconded to approve the permit. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Aye, Kilker – Aye, Bender – Aye, Schuller - Aye. Motion carried.

Note that this application is under joint-jurisdiction and is to be heard at the Britton City Council meeting set for July.

PLATS:

Kilker motioned; Luttrell seconded to approve the following plat; Plat of Mount View Ranch Addition in Red Iron Lake Township. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Abstained, Luttrell – Aye, Kilker – Aye, Bender – Aye, Schuller - Aye. Motion carried.

Medhaug motioned; Kilker seconded to approve the following plat; Plat of Lakeview Addition to Roy Lake in Lake Township. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Aye, Kilker – Aye, Bender – Aye, Schuller - Aye. Motion carried.

AMENDED BUILDING PERMIT:

Bender motioned; Luttrell seconded to accept an amended building permit for the following applicant; Maxine L. Vrchota – Miller Township. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

POSTPONED BUILDING PERMITS:

Kilker motioned; Medhaug seconded to postpone a building permit for the following applicant: Randy Lien - Dumarce Township. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

BUILDING PERMITS:

Luttrell motioned; Bender seconded to accept building permits for the following applicants: Darren & Pamela Burchill – Lake Township, Brian Olson – Lake Township, Joel Erickson – Sisseton Township, Rodney Nelson – Hickman Township. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

ADJOURN:

Schuller motioned; Medhaug seconded to adjourn as Planning and Zoning Board and convened as Marshall County Commission at 10:08 AM. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

ATTEST:

Erin Collins-Miles Marshall County Planning and Zoning Administrator Marshall County, South Dakota Published at the approximate cost of.....