## MARSHALL COUNTY PLANNING & ZONING COMMISSION

## **Proposed Agenda**

Regular Scheduled Meeting July 22, 2025– 9:00 AM

Marshall County Courthouse, Commissioners Chambers

T	O 11		$\sim$ 1
1	('all	tΩ	Order
1.	Can	w	Oluci

- II. Roll Call
- III. Approval of Agenda
- IV. Review & Approval of Minutes from July 8, 2025
- V. Matters for Board Discussion
- VI. Open
- VII. Disclosure of Conflicts/Ex Parte Communication
- VIII. New Business:

# A. Variance - Thomas Satrang

- 1) Staff report by E. Collins-Miles
- 2) Open Public hearing
  - a) Discuss new developments
  - b) Testimony from applicant
  - c) Testimony from proponents and opponents
  - d) Applicant back up for questions (if needed)
- 3) Close public hearing
- 4) Boards Discussion
  - a) Questions for audience (No new topics to be discussed)
  - b) P & Z Boards motion and roll call for vote for recommendation to County Commission

## B. Revised Zoning Regulations for Marshall County, South Dakota

- 1) 1<sup>st</sup> notice read by E. Collins-Miles
- 2) Open Public hearing
  - a) Testimony from public
  - b) Testimony from proponents and opponents
  - c) Any additional questions (if needed)
- 3) Close public hearing
- 4) Board Discussion
  - a) Questions for audience (No new topics to be discussed)
- 5) Motion and roll call vote for recommendation to County Commission
- 6) County Commission to hold 1<sup>st</sup> Reading (if recommended by P&Z Board)

## IX. Building Permits

#### X. Other

- A. MSAG Assistance Contract
- B. Laptop purchase
- XI. Old Business
- XII. Adjourn

MARSHALL COUNTY PLANNING & ZONING BOARD
PO BOX 9
BRITTON, SOUTH DAKOTA
UNAPPROVED MINUTES
July 8, 2025

The Marshall County Planning & Zoning Board met at 9:00 AM, at the North Marshall Firehall Meeting Room. Present at the hearing were the following Board members; Matthew Schuller, Doug Medhaug, Jason Bender, Lynda Luttrell and Andrea Kilker. Commissioner Schuller presided. Others present at the hearing were Erin Collins-Miles - Planning & Zoning, Megan Biel - Auditor, Ron Thompson, Colby Olson, Kurt Zuehlke, Lee Schneider, Corrine Zorn, Josh Kraft and Mark & Emily Hrabik.

#### **AGENDA:**

Medhaug motioned; Kilker seconded to approve the agenda. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

#### **MINUTES:**

Bender motioned; Luttrell seconded to approve the minutes from June 17, 2025. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

#### **VARIANCE:**

Regarding a Variance for Mark & Emily Hrabik; Josh Kraft as well as the applicants were present on behalf of the project. Kilker motioned; Bender seconded to approve the requested 12' variance at the NE corner and 4' variance at the NW corner from the right-of-way line, and a 17' variance at the SE corner and a 14' variance at the SW corner to the high-water mark setback for the covered porch. This motion was made noting that other similar variances have been granted in the past, which allows the house/porch to be placed on the lot as requested by the applicant; per the Marshall County Zoning Ordinance, and to adopt the facts and the recommended findings of the Planning Commission listed in the staff report. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Aye, Kilker – Aye, Bender – Aye, Schuller - Aye. Motion carried.

#### **DRAINAGE:**

Pertaining to a drainage application for Colby Olson; A few members of the public were present in regard to the application. Kurt Zuehlke made comment concerning the flow and direction of the water in relation to the project. Medhaug motioned; Bender seconded to approve an application to drain on the property described as the SE¼, Section 13, T128N, R59W. Conditions to this permit are as follows; to extend the construction completion date to August 18, 2026, and to make the construction completion date as seen on permit application; August 18, 2026. Applicant must reapply after said date. Applicant must follow all applicable laws. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Aye, Bender – Aye, Kilker – Abstained, Schuller – Aye. Motion carried.

### **PLATS:**

Kilker motioned; Bender seconded to approve the following plat; Erickson's Second Subdivision in Hickman Township. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

#### **BUILDING PERMITS:**

Kilker motioned; Luttrell seconded to accept building permits for the following applicants: Wyatt Janisch – McKinley Township, SMJ Int'l/John Knapek - Verizon Wireless - Sisseton Township, Mark & Emily Hrabik – Lake Township (variance), Buffalo Lake Ranch, Inc./Tyler Hellwig – Buffalo Township. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

## **OTHER:**

Addressing updates have been made to a portion of Buffalo Lake to aid emergency response accuracy. Lakeview Dr. has been established and the appropriate lake parcels have been readdressed accordingly. Notifications have already been sent out to the property owners and any questions can be directed to the Planning and Zoning office.

## **ADJOURN:**

Medhaug motioned; Kilker seconded to adjourn as Planning and Zoning Board and convened as Marshall County Commission at 9:27 AM. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

## **ATTEST:**

Erin Collins-Miles
Marshall County Planning and Zoning Administrator
Marshall County, South Dakota
Published at the approximate cost of.....