# MARSHALL COUNTY PLANNING & ZONING COMMISSION

### **Proposed Agenda**

Regular Scheduled Meeting May 6, 2025– 9:00 AM

# Marshall County Courthouse, Commissioners Chambers

I.	Call	to	Order

- II. Roll Call
- III. Approval of Agenda
- IV. Review & Approval of Minutes from April 8, 2025
- V. Matters for Board Discussion
- VI. Open
- VII. Disclosure of Conflicts/Ex Parte Communication
- VIII. New Business:

# A. Variance - Randy Lien

- 1) Staff report by E. Collins-Miles
- 2) Open Public hearing
  - a) Discuss new developments
  - b) Testimony from applicant
  - c) Testimony from proponents and opponents
  - d) Applicant back up for questions (if needed)
- 3) Close public hearing
- 4) Boards Discussion
  - a) Questions for audience (No new topics to be discussed)
  - b) P & Z Boards motion and roll call for vote for recommendation to County Commission

# B. Drainage – Donald Lesher #1

- 1) Reported by E. Collins-Miles
- 2) Open Public hearing
  - a) Discuss new developments
  - b) Testimony from applicant
  - c) Testimony from proponents and opponents
  - d) Applicant back up for questions (if needed)
- 3) Close public hearing
- 4) Boards Discussion
  - a) Questions for audience (No new topics to be discussed)
- 5) Drainage Board motion and roll call for vote

# C. Drainage – Donald Lesher #2

- 1) Reported by E. Collins-Miles
- 2) Open Public hearing

- a) Discuss new developments
- b) Testimony from applicant
- c) Testimony from proponents and opponents
- d) Applicant back up for questions (if needed)
- 3) Close public hearing
- 4) Boards Discussion
  - a) Questions for audience (No new topics to be discussed)
  - Drainage Board motion and roll call for vote

### D. Plats

5)

- a. K Bremmon Addition
  - a) Plat of K Bremmon Addition Located in the NW1/4 of Section 9, T126N, R57W of the 5<sup>th</sup> P.M., Marshall County, South Dakota
- b. Smith Addition
  - a) Plat of Smith Addition Located in the SE1/4SW1/4 of Section 11, T127N, R57W of the 5<sup>th</sup> P.M., Marshall County, South Dakota
- IX. Building Permits
- X. Other miscellaneous items
- XI. Old Business
- XII. Adjourn

MARSHALL COUNTY PLANNING & ZONING BOARD PO BOX 9
BRITTON, SOUTH DAKOTA
UNAPPROVED MINUTES
April 8, 2025

The Marshall County Planning & Zoning Board met at 9:00 AM, April 8, 2025, at the North Marshall Firehall Meeting Room. Present at the hearing were the following Board members; Matthew Schuller, Doug Medhaug, Lynda Luttrell, Jason Bender and Andrea Kilker. Commissioner Schuller presided. Commissioner Kilker was absent during the approval of the agenda and meeting minutes. Others present at the hearing were Erin Collins-Miles, Planning & Zoning, Megan Biel, Auditor, Jerry Burger, Randy Heitmann, Kyle Bessler, Karl Kleman, Eddy Kornelsen, David Hansen and Katrina Johnson, Director of Equalization.

#### **AGENDA:**

Bender motioned; Luttrell seconded to approve the agenda. All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

#### **MINUTES:**

Medhaug motioned; Luttrell seconded to approve the minutes from March 18, 2025. All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

## **VARIANCE:**

Pertaining to a Variance for Randy Heitmann; The application was reviewed and discussed. The applicant was present at the meeting for any questions and discussion. Medhaug motioned; Bender seconded to approve the requested 10' variance at the NE corner and a 6.5' variance at the NW corner to the right-of-way line setback, and also a 21' variance at the SE corner and a 16' variance at the SW corner of the deck and a 23' variance for

the stairs; all to the normal high-water mark setback. This motion allows the house to be placed on the lot as requested by the applicant; per the Marshall County Zoning Ordinance and to adopt the facts and the recommended findings of the Planning Commission listed in the staff report. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Aye, Kilker – Aye, Bender – Aye, Schuller - Aye, Motion carried.

Pertaining to a Variance for Eddy Kornelsen; The application was reviewed and discussed. The applicant was present at the meeting for any questions and discussion. Kilker motioned; Luttrell seconded to approve the requested 7' variance at the NE corner and an 11' variance at the SE corner to the right-of-way line setback. This motion allows the garage to be built on the lot as requested by the applicant per the Marshall County Zoning Ordinance and to adopt the facts and the recommended findings of the Planning Commission listed in the staff report. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Aye, Kilker – Aye, Bender – Aye, Schuller - Aye. Motion carried.

#### **DRAINAGE:**

Pertaining to a drainage application for David Hansen; The application was reviewed and discussed. The applicant was present at the meeting for any questions and discussion. Medhaug motioned; Bender seconded to approve an application to drain on the properties described as Lot 1 except Hansen Outlot, and Lots 2, 3, and 4; S1/2NE1/4; NE1/4SW1/4; and S1/2NW1/4 all in Section 5, T128N, R53W and also the SE1/4, NW1/4SW1/4, SW1/4SW1/4, Sec. 5, T128N, R53W; and E1/2SE1/4, SW1/4SE1/4, SE1/4SW1/4, Sec. 6, T128N, R53W. Conditions to this permit are as follows; to make the construction completion date as seen on permit application; August 31, 2027. Applicant must reapply after said date. Applicant must follow all applicable laws. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Aye, Bender – Aye, Kilker – Aye, Schuller – Aye. Motion carried.

# **BUILDING PERMITS:**

Luttrell motioned; Kilker seconded to accept building permits for the following applicants: Michael G. Niesen – Pleasant Valley Township, Eddy Kornelsen – Lake Township (variance), Brandon Alberts – Weston Township, Randy Heitmann – Red Iron Lake Township (variance) and Laurel Stiegelmeier – Newport Township. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

### **OTHER**:

Erin Collins-Miles, E911 Addressing Administrator notified the Board that all notifications for address changes on Main Ave. in the City of Britton have been mailed out. For safety purposes and making sure that all addresses locate accurately, the address number remained the same, but all addresses are now known as MAIN AVE. Address changes to Coteau Acres on Buffalo Lake have also been implemented for safety purposes and efficiency. Addressing now includes Coteau Acres Ave., Ln. and Dr., due to the layout of the road. Collins-Miles also let the Board know of ongoing efforts to contact the spokesperson for the association in that area to speak about road signs which would reflect the changes as well, if they choose to update them.

### **ADJOURN:**

Medhaug motioned; Luttrell seconded to adjourn as Planning and Zoning Board and convene as Marshall County Commission at 9:25 AM. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

### **ATTEST:**

Erin Collins-Miles
Marshall County Planning and Zoning Administrator
Marshall County, South Dakota
Published at the approximate cost of.....