MARSHALL COUNTY PLANNING & ZONING COMMISSION

Proposed Agenda

Regular Scheduled Meeting April 8, 2025– 9:00 AM Marshall County Courthouse, Commissioners Chambers

- I. Call to Order
- II. Roll Call
- III. Approval of Agenda
- IV. Review & Approval of Minutes from March 18, 2025
- V. Matters for Board Discussion
- VI. Open
- VII. Disclosure of Conflicts/Ex Parte Communication
- VIII. New Business:

A. Variance – Randy Heitmann

- 1) Staff report by E. Collins-Miles
- 2) Open Public hearing
 - a) Discuss new developments
 - b) Testimony from applicant
 - c) Testimony from proponents and opponents
 - d) Applicant back up for questions (if needed)
- 3) Close public hearing
- 4) Boards Discussion
 - a) Questions for audience (No new topics to be discussed)
 - b) P & Z Boards motion and roll call for vote for recommendation to County Commission

B. Variance – Eddy Kornelsen

- 1) Staff report by E. Collins-Miles
- 2) Open Public hearing
 - a) Discuss new developments
 - b) Testimony from applicant
 - c) Testimony from proponents and opponents
 - d) Applicant back up for questions (if needed)
- 3) Close public hearing
- 4) Boards Discussion
 - a) Questions for audience (No new topics to be discussed)
 - b) P & Z Boards motion and roll call for vote for recommendation to County Commission

C. Drainage – Dave Hansen

1) Reported by E. Collins-Miles

- 2) Open Public hearing
 - a) Discuss new developments
 - b) Testimony from applicant
 - c) Testimony from proponents and opponents
 - d) Applicant back up for questions (if needed)
- 3) Close public hearing
- 4) Boards Discussion
 - a) Questions for audience (No new topics to be discussed)
- 5) Drainage Board motion and roll call for vote

IX. Building Permits

- X. Other
 - A. E911 Addressing update
- XI. Old Business
- XII. Adjourn

MARSHALL COUNTY PLANNING & ZONING BOARD PO BOX 9 BRITTON, SOUTH DAKOTA UNAPPROVED MINUTES March 18, 2025

The Marshall County Planning & Zoning Board met at 9:00 AM, March 18, 2025, at the Marshall County Courthouse. Present at the hearing were the following Board members; Matthew Schuller, Doug Medhaug, Andrea Kilker and Lynda Luttrell. Commissioner Schuller presided. Commissioner Bender was absent. Others present at the hearing were Erin Collins-Miles, Planning & Zoning, Megan Biel, Auditor, and Nathan Schultz.

AGENDA:

Medhaug motioned; Kilker seconded to approve the agenda. All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

MINUTES:

Luttrell motioned; Kilker seconded to approve the minutes from February 4, 2025. All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

VARIANCE:

Pertaining to a Variance for Nathan Schultz; The application was reviewed and discussed. The applicant was present at the meeting for any questions and discussion. Medhaug motioned; Kilker seconded to approve the requested 41' variance to the road right-of-way line, allowing the shop to be built 19' from the right-of-way line instead of the 60' requirement; per the Marshall County Zoning Ordinance and to adopt the facts and the recommended findings of the Planning Commission listed in the staff report. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Aye, Kilker – Aye, Bender – Absent, Schuller - Aye. Motion carried.

PLAT:

Luttrell motioned; Kilker seconded to approve the following plat; Plat of Second Williams Family Subdivision in Hickman Township. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Aye, Kilker – Aye, Bender – Absent, Schuller - Aye. Motion carried.

BUILDING PERMITS:

Kilker motioned; Medhaug seconded to accept building permits for the following applicants: Nathan Schultz – Hamilton Township (variance), Steve Streier – Buffalo Township, John Bartkowiak – Veblen Township, Jared White/T-Mobile – Stena Township and Don Ogren – Sisseton Township. All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

OTHER:

Erin Collins-Miles, also the E911 Addressing Administrator, gave an update on upcoming changes to the addressing involving "Main," in the City of Britton. Currently, there is a mixture of addresses in the system which include Main, Main St., Main St. N and Main Ave. For safety purposes and making sure that all addresses locate accurately, the address <u>number</u> will remain the same, but all addresses will now be <u>MAIN</u> <u>AVE</u>. This project will begin immediately in order to aid emergency response accuracy. Letters to notify each property/business owner will be mailed out in the coming days.

ADJOURN:

Medhaug motioned; Luttrell seconded to adjourn as Planning and Zoning Board and convene as Marshall County Commission at 9:36 AM. All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

ATTEST:

Erin Collins-Miles Marshall County Planning and Zoning Administrator Marshall County, South Dakota Published at the approximate cost of.....