MARSHALL COUNTY PLANNING & ZONING COMMISSION

Proposed Agenda

Regular Scheduled Meeting March 4, 2025– 9:00 AM Marshall County Courthouse, Commissioners Chambers

- I. Call to Order
- II. Roll Call
- III. Approval of Agenda
- IV. Review & Approval of Minutes from February 4, 2025
- V. Matters for Board Discussion
- VI. Open
- VII. Disclosure of Conflicts/Ex Parte Communication
- VIII. New Business:

A. Variance – Randy Heitmann

- 1) Staff report by E. Collins-Miles
- 2) Open Public hearing
 - a) Discuss new developments
 - b) Testimony from applicant
 - c) Testimony from proponents and opponents
 - d) Applicant back up for questions (if needed)
- 3) Close public hearing
- 4) Boards Discussion
 - a) Questions for audience (No new topics to be discussed)
 - b) P & Z Boards motion and roll call for vote for recommendation to County Commission

B. Plats

a. Second Williams Family Subdivision

Plat of Second Williams Family Subdivision in the SW1/4 of the NW1/4 of Section 32, T125N, R58W of the 5th P.M., Marshall County, South Dakota

- IX. Building Permits
- X. Other

A. Heitmann Drainage Application filing

- XI. Old Business
- XII. Adjourn

MARSHALL COUNTY PLANNING & ZONING BOARD PO BOX 9 BRITTON, SOUTH DAKOTA UNAPPROVED MINUTES February 4, 2025

The Marshall County Planning & Zoning Board met at 9:00 AM, February 4, 2025, at the North Marshall Firehall Meeting Room. Present at the hearing were the following Board members; Matthew Schuller, Doug Medhaug, Jason Bender and Lynda Luttrell. Commissioner Kilker was present via telephone. Commissioner Schuller presided. Others present at the hearing were Erin Collins-Miles, Planning & Zoning, Megan Biel, Auditor, Victor Rapkoch, Marshall County States Attorney and Sandy Dinger. Eric Senger and Lesleann Palmer with NECOG were present for a portion of the meeting.

AGENDA:

Bender motioned; Luttrell seconded to approve the agenda. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

MINUTES:

Medhaug motioned; Luttrell seconded to approve the minutes from December 31, 2024. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

DRAINAGE:

Pertaining to an application for CNH Farms, LLC by Nick Heitmann; Discussion regarding the direction and flow of water under the state highway took place; noting that the SDDOT had no issue with the project. Medhaug motioned; Bender seconded to approve an application to drain on the property described as Lots 1 and 2 of the N1/2NE1/4; and the S1/2NE1/4, with exceptions, of Section 3, T126N, R54W. Conditions to this permit are as follows; to make the construction completion date as seen on permit application; April 1, 2027. Applicant must reapply after said date. Applicant must follow all applicable laws. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Aye, Bender – Aye, Kilker – Aye, Schuller – Aye. Motion carried.

PLAT:

Bender motioned; Kilker seconded to approve the following plat; Plat of Price 1st Subdivision in Hickman Township. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Aye, Kilker – Aye, Bender – Aye, Schuller - Aye. Motion carried.

BUILDING PERMITS:

Medhaug motioned; Luttrell seconded to accept a building permit for the following applicant: Dale Pitzl – Lake Township. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

OTHER:

Collins-Miles and Rapkoch updated the Board on a Marshall County resident who has failed to obtain a building permit prior to construction of a building. Efforts to contact the resident to create a solution are still underway. Updates will be provided as any progress is made on the matter.

A brief update on E911 Addressing projects that are worked on in the winter months was given. The review of parcels within Marshall County that do not have an E911 address on file continue to be worked on and completed. Work on this project will continue in the hopes that all parcels will be accurately addressed, if needed. Any questions can be directed to the E911 Addressing Administrator. Additionally, Dinger briefly discussed an address and road sign relating to a phone call she received regarding a road out at Roy Lake. Any further questions can be directed to the E911 Addressing Administrator.

ADJOURN:

Medhaug motioned; Luttrell seconded to adjourn as Planning and Zoning Board and convene as Marshall County Commission at 9:23 AM. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

ATTEST:

Erin Collins-Miles Marshall County Planning and Zoning Administrator Marshall County, South Dakota Published at the approximate cost of.....