MARSHALL COUNTY PLANNING & ZONING COMMISSION

Proposed Agenda

Regular Scheduled Meeting February 4, 2025– 9:00 AM North Marshall Firehall Meeting Room

- I. Call to Order
- II. Roll Call
- III. Approval of Agenda
- IV. Review & Approval of Minutes from December 31, 2024
- V. Matters for Board Discussion
- VI. Open
- VII. Disclosure of Conflicts/Ex Parte Communication
- VIII. New Business:

A. Drainage – CNH Farms, LLC by Nick Heitmann

- 1) Reported by E. Collins-Miles
- 2) Open Public hearing
 - a) Discuss new developments
 - b) Testimony from applicant
 - c) Testimony from proponents and opponents
 - d) Applicant back up for questions (if needed)
- 3) Close public hearing
- 4) Boards Discussion
 - a) Questions for audience (No new topics to be discussed)
- 5) Drainage Board motion and roll call for vote

B. Plats

1) Price 1st Subdivision

Plat of Price 1st Subdivision in the NE1/4 of the NE1/4 of Section 32, T125N, R58W of the 5th P.M., Marshall County, South Dakota

- IX. Building Permits
- X. Other
- XI. Old Business
- XII. Adjourn

MARSHALL COUNTY PLANNING & ZONING BOARD PO BOX 9 BRITTON, SOUTH DAKOTA UNAPPROVED MINUTES December 31, 2024

The Marshall County Planning & Zoning Board met at 9:00 AM, December 31, 2024, at the Marshall County Courthouse. Present at the hearing were the following Board members; Matthew Schuller, Doug Medhaug, LeRon Knebel, Jason Bender and Lynda Luttrell. Commissioner Schuller presided. Others present at the hearing were Erin Collins-Miles, Planning & Zoning, Megan Biel, Auditor, Victor Rapkoch, States Attorney, and Keith Hupke. Dustin Hofland was present for portions of the meeting.

AGENDA:

Medhaug motioned; Luttrell seconded to approve the agenda with changes. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

MINUTES:

Luttrell motioned; Bender seconded to approve the minutes from November 19, 2024. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

VARIANCE:

Pertaining to a Variance for Paul Price; Keith Hupke was present at the meeting to make comments pertaining to property boundaries, the Crow Creek and known and existing issues with County Road 9. The Board heard and discussed these topics with Hupke. Bender motioned; Luttrell seconded to approve the requested a 0.9-acre (Lot 1) and a 0.26-acre (Lot 2) variance to the acreage size requirement instead of the 2-acre minimum requirement; allowing the property to be platted into lots 1 and 2, respectively, as requested; per the Marshall County Zoning Ordinance and to adopt the facts and the recommended findings of the Planning Commission listed in the staff report. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug — Aye, Luttrell — Aye, Knebel — Aye, Bender — Aye, Schuller Aye. Motion carried.

BUILDING PERMITS:

Medhaug motioned; Knebel seconded to accept building permits for the following applicants: Eric Brown – Lake Township, Justin Gartner of Buell Consulting Inc. c/o Verizon – Veblen Township, Nathan Schultz – Lake Township and Robert Tchida – Dumarce Township. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Aye, Knebel – Aye, Bender – Aye, Schuller - Aye. Motion carried.

OTHER:

Erin Collins-Miles, a member of the safety committee along with Kalissa Stelzer, gave a brief update on the conference we attended on November 20th & 21st in which Marshall County received the Gold and Platinum Safety & Loss Control Recognition Awards from the South Dakota Public Assurance Alliance and the SDML Worker's Compensation Fund. Collins-Miles and Stelzer will also be looking into more training for cyber security.

A brief update was given on the current FEMA and Flood Ordinance process by Erin Collins-Miles, Floodplain Administrator and Victor Rapkoch, Marshall County States Attorney. Due to possible staff changes and FEMA's active involvement in disaster deployment, we do not have any updates at this time. We will continue to seek a solution and notify the Board and Public as any new information becomes available. Collins-Miles and Rapkoch also updated the Board on a Marshall County resident who has failed to obtain a building permit prior to construction of a building. Updates will be provided as any progress is made on the issue.

ADJOURN:

Knebel motioned; Luttrell seconded to adjourn as Planning and Zoning Board and convene as Marshall County Commission at 9:32 AM. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

ATTEST:

Erin Collins-Miles Marshall County Planning and Zoning Administrator Marshall County, South Dakota Published at the approximate cost of.....