MARSHALL COUNTY PLANNING & ZONING COMMISSION

Proposed Agenda

Regular Scheduled Meeting December 31, 2024–9:00 AM Marshall County Courthouse, Commissioners Chambers

- I. Call to Order
- II. Roll Call
- III. Approval of Agenda
- IV. Review & Approval of Minutes from November 19, 2024
- V. Matters for Board Discussion
- VI. Open
- VII. Disclosure of Conflicts/Ex Parte Communication
- VIII. New Business:

A. Variance - Paul Price

- 1) Staff report by E. Collins-Miles
- 2) Open Public hearing
 - a) Discuss new developments
 - b) Testimony from applicant
 - c) Testimony from proponents and opponents
 - d) Applicant back up for questions (if needed)
- 3) Close public hearing
- 4) Boards Discussion
 - a) Questions for audience (No new topics to be discussed)
 - b) P & Z Boards motion and roll call for vote for recommendation to County Commission

B. Plats

a. Price 1st Subdivision

Plat of Price 1st Subdivision in the Northeast Quarter of the Northeast Quarter of Section 32, T125N, R58W, of the 5th P.M., Marshall County, South Dakota

b. Second Williams Family Subdivision

Plat of Second Williams Family Subdivision in the SW1/4 of the NW1/4 of Section 32, T125N, R58W of the 5th P.M., Marshall County, South Dakota

- IX. Building Permits
- X. Other

- A. Safety Committee Update
- B. Miscellaneous items
- XI. Old Business
- XII. Adjourn

MARSHALL COUNTY PLANNING & ZONING BOARD PO BOX 9 BRITTON, SOUTH DAKOTA UNAPPROVED MINUTES November 19, 2024

The Marshall County Planning & Zoning Board met at 9:00 AM, November 19, 2024, at the Marshall County Courthouse. Present at the hearing were the following Board members; Matthew Schuller, Doug Medhaug, LeRon Knebel, Jason Bender and Lynda Luttrell. Commissioner Schuller presided. Commissioner Bender was absent for a portion of the meeting. Others present at the hearing were Erin Collins-Miles, Planning & Zoning, Megan Biel, Auditor, and Jerry Burger.

AGENDA:

Knebel motioned; Luttrell seconded to approve the agenda. All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

MINUTES:

Medhaug motioned; Knebel seconded to approve the minutes from November 7, 2024. All members present voted ave. Motion carried.

VARIANCE:

Pertaining to a Variance for Tania Henning; The application was reviewed after being postponed during the November 7th meeting. Medhaug motioned; Knebel seconded to approve the requested 26 ' variance at the SE corner to the right-of-way line setback and a 23' variance at the NE corner to the right-of-way line setback instead of the 30' requirement; allowing the home and deck to be placed on the lot with the requested setbacks; per the Marshall County Zoning Ordinance and to adopt the facts and the recommended findings of the Planning Commission listed in the staff report. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug — Aye, Luttrell — Aye, Knebel — Aye, Bender — Aye, Schuller Aye. Motion carried.

Pertaining to a Variance for Randy Deutsch; The application was discussed and the Zoning Director made note that the variance needs to be approved prior to the plat being filed. Bender motioned; Knebel seconded to approve the requested 25' variance to the Lot Road frontage width requirement, allowing the lot to be platted with a lot road width of 75' instead of the 100' requirement; per the Marshall County Zoning Ordinance and to adopt the facts and the recommended findings of the Planning Commission listed in the staff report. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Aye, Knebel – Aye, Bender – Aye, Schuller - Aye. Motion carried.

PLAT:

Knebel motioned; Medhaug seconded to approve the following plat; Plat of Almos Northside Second Addition in Buffalo Township. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Aye, Knebel – Aye, Bender – Aye, Schuller - Aye. Motion carried.

BUILDING PERMITS:

Medhaug motioned; Luttrell seconded to accept building permits for the following applicants: Paul Eric Cobb – Lake Township, Micah Samson – Eden Township, Zackary Guy – Dumarce Township, Terry Molter – Dumarce Township and Maxine L. Vrchota – Miller Township. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Aye, Knebel – Aye, Bender – Absent, Schuller - Aye. Motion carried.

Medhaug motioned; Bender seconded to approve a building permit for the following applicant: Tania Henning – Lake Township (variance). A roll call vote was taken. Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Aye, Knebel – Aye, Bender – Aye, Schuller - Aye. Motion carried.

OTHER:

Erin Collins-Miles, the Floodplain Administrator, gave a brief update on the most recent Hazard Mitigation Meeting which was held on November 12th. A survey was put out into the County in order to receive feedback to aid in the writing of the new plan. NECOG plans to be finished writing the Hazard Mitigation plan by the beginning of January and will be in contact with the County to begin the adoption process.

FEMA and the Floodplain mapping was discussed at length due to information presented by the Floodplain Administrator. A meeting between the County and FEMA is hoped to be planned sometime in the very near future to discuss the matter further. The Floodplain Administrator will update the Board and the Public as any new information arrives.

ADJOURN:

Knebel motioned; Luttrell seconded to adjourn as Planning and Zoning Board and convene as Marshall County Commission at 9:30 AM. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

ATTEST:

Erin Collins-Miles
Marshall County Planning and Zoning Administrator
Marshall County, South Dakota
Published at the approximate cost of.....