# MARSHALL COUNTY PLANNING & ZONING COMMISSION

### **Proposed Agenda**

### Regular Scheduled Meeting November 19, 2024– 9:00 AM Marshall County Courthouse, Commissioners Chambers

- I. Call to Order
- II. Roll Call
- III. Approval of Agenda
- IV. Review & Approval of Minutes from November 7, 2024
- V. Matters for Board Discussion
- VI. Open
- VII. Disclosure of Conflicts/Ex Parte Communication
- VIII. New Business:

#### A. Variance – Tania Henning

- 1) Staff report by E. Collins-Miles
- 2) Open Public hearing
  - a) Discuss new developments
  - b) Testimony from applicant
  - c) Testimony from proponents and opponents
  - d) Applicant back up for questions (if needed)
- 3) Close public hearing
- 4) Boards Discussion
  - a) Questions for audience (No new topics to be discussed)
  - b) P & Z Boards motion and roll call for vote for recommendation to County Commission

#### **B. Variance – Randy Deutsch**

- 1) Staff report by E. Collins-Miles
- 2) Open Public hearing
  - a) Discuss new developments
  - b) Testimony from applicant
  - c) Testimony from proponents and opponents
  - d) Applicant back up for questions (if needed)
- 3) Close public hearing
- 4) Boards Discussion
  - a) Questions for audience (No new topics to be discussed)
  - b) P & Z Boards motion and roll call for vote for recommendation to County Commission

## C. Plats

a. Almos Northside Second Addition

Plat of Almos Northside Second Addition Located in Gov't Lot 7 and the SE1/4NW1/4 of Section 4, T125N, R53W, of the 5<sup>th</sup> P.M., Marshall County, South Dakota

- IX. Building Permits
- X. Other
- XI. Old Business
- XII. Adjourn

### MARSHALL COUNTY PLANNING & ZONING BOARD PO BOX 9 BRITTON, SOUTH DAKOTA UNAPPROVED MINUTES November 7, 2024

The Marshall County Planning & Zoning Board met at 9:00 AM, November 7, 2024, at the Marshall County Courthouse. Present at the hearing were the following Board members; Matthew Schuller, Doug Medhaug, LeRon Knebel, Jason Bender and Lynda Luttrell. Commissioner Schuller presided. Others present at the hearing were Erin Collins-Miles, Planning & Zoning, Megan Biel, Auditor, and Andrea Kilker. Dustin Hofland, Marshall County Highway Superintendent, was present for a small portion of the meeting.

#### AGENDA:

Knebel motioned; Schuller seconded to approve the agenda. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

#### **MINUTES:**

Medhaug motioned; Luttrell seconded to approve the minutes from October 22, 2024. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

#### **VARIANCE:**

Pertaining to a Variance for Tania Henning; Discussion was had over differing road jurisdictions and potential permissions that may need to be acquired for the permit. Medhaug motioned; Luttrell seconded to postpone the requested 26' variance at the SE corner to the right-of-way line setback and a 23' variance at the NE corner to the right-of-way line setback instead of the 30' requirement. The Board will await contact from Roy Lake State Park and review the permit again at the next scheduled Commissioner Meeting. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Aye, Knebel – Aye, Bender – Aye, Schuller - Aye. Motion carried.

#### **BUILDING PERMITS:**

Luttrell motioned; Medhaug seconded to accept building permits for the following applicants: Matt Feldhaus – Nordland Township, Kyle Hoines – Sisseton Township, Scott Gangle – Lake Township, Jason Bender – Waverly Township, Leonard Wolf – Newark Township and Clear Lake Investments, LLP – Lake Township. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Aye, Knebel – Aye, Bender – Abstained, Schuller - Aye. Motion carried.

Medhaug motioned; Bender seconded to postpone a building permit for the following applicant, until the next scheduled hearing: Tania Henning – Lake Township (variance). A roll call vote was taken. Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Aye, Knebel – Aye, Bender – Aye, Schuller - Aye. Motion carried.

### **OTHER**:

Zoning Director, Erin Collins-Miles, made note of a known issue with the location of a section line on the Marshall County Web Viewer GIS System that has been submitted to District III for correction.

In addition, a reminder of the next Marshall County Hazard Mitigation Meeting on November 12, 2024, which is to take place at 1:00PM at the North Marshall Fire Hall.

### **ADJOURN:**

Knebel motioned; Medhaug seconded to adjourn as Planning and Zoning Board and convene as Marshall County Commission at 9:26 AM. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

### **ATTEST:**

Erin Collins-Miles Marshall County Planning and Zoning Administrator Marshall County, South Dakota Published at the approximate cost of.....