MARSHALL COUNTY PLANNING & ZONING COMMISSION

Proposed Agenda

Regular Scheduled Meeting September 24, 2024– 9:00 AM Marshall County Courthouse, Commissioners Chambers

- I. Call to Order
- II. Roll Call
- III. Approval of Agenda
- IV. Review & Approval of Minutes from September 10, 2024
- V. Matters for Board Discussion
- VI. Open
- VII. Disclosure of Conflicts/Ex Parte Communication
- VIII. New Business:

A. Plats

a. Lake Dumarce Tenth Subdivision

Plat of Lake Dumarce Tenth Subdivision in Government Lot 6 in Section 24, T127N, R54W, of the 5th P.M., Marshall County, South Dakota

IX. Building Permits

X. Other

- A. In regular session Ordinance No. 68 Adoption & Second reading
- B. Ordinance No. 67 (Zoning Regulations) becomes effective October 1, 2024

XI. Old Business

XII. Adjourn

MARSHALL COUNTY PLANNING & ZONING BOARD PO BOX 9 BRITTON, SOUTH DAKOTA UNAPPROVED MINUTES September 10, 2024

The Marshall County Planning & Zoning Board met at 9:00 AM, September 10, 2024, at the Marshall County Courthouse. Present at the hearing were the following Board members; Matthew Schuller, Doug Medhaug, LeRon Knebel and Lynda Luttrell. Commissioner Schuller presided. Commissioner Bender was absent. Others present at the hearing were Erin Collins-Miles, Planning & Zoning, Megan Biel, Auditor and Jerry Burger.

AGENDA:

Knebel motioned; Luttrell seconded to approve the agenda. All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

MINUTES:

Luttrell motioned; Schuller seconded to approve the minutes from August 20, 2024. All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

REZONE:

Pertaining to a Rezone for Randy Deutsch; The Board discussed. Medhaug motioned; Knebel seconded to recommend Ordinance No. 68 to the County Commission and to adopt the facts and the recommended findings of the Planning Commission listed in the staff report. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Aye, Bender – Absent, Knebel – Aye, Schuller – Aye. Motion carried.

By recommendation of the Planning & Zoning Board, the first reading of this Ordinance was held by the County Commission during regular session on September 10, 2024.

VARIANCE:

Pertaining to a Variance for Kent Erickson; Luttrell motioned; Medhaug seconded to approve the requested 1.57-acre variance to the lot size requirement.; allowing the applicant to plat the lot as requested at 0.43 acres; per the Marshall County Zoning Ordinance and to adopt the facts and the recommended findings of the Planning Commission listed in the staff report. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Aye, Knebel – Aye, Bender – Absent, Schuller - Aye. Motion carried.

PLAT:

Medhaug motioned; Knebel seconded to approve the following plat; Plat of S & A Ogren Addition in Sisseton Township. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Aye, Knebel – Aye, Bender – Absent, Schuller - Aye. Motion carried.

Revised Zoning Regulations for Marshall County, South Dakota:

Erin Collins-Miles, Planning & Zoning Director, read the changes to the ordinance to the Board and discussed the second reading and adoption of Ordinance 67. The second reading and adoption will take place on September 10, 2024, during regular session.

BUILDING PERMITS:

Medhaug motioned; Luttrell seconded to accept building permits for the following applicants: Jason Bender -Lowell Township, David Johnson - Buffalo Township, Hans & Laure Nelson - Veblen Township, David & Twila Kristofferson - Lake Township and Jeanette Glynn Gravdahl - Sisseton Township. All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

OTHER:

The second meeting to discuss Marshall County's Natural Hazard Mitigation Plan took place on September 9th at the North Marshall Fire Department. At the meeting, the Board discussed possible mitigation projects to add

to the plan and any critical structures that could be added or removed from those already listed within the existing plan. A survey will be released to the public in the coming weeks to gather more information from residents of the County. The next meeting is scheduled for November 12th at the same location.

ADJOURN:

Knebel motioned; Luttrell seconded to adjourn as Planning and Zoning Board and convene as Marshall County Commission at 9:45 AM. All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

ATTEST:

Erin Collins-Miles Marshall County Planning and Zoning Administrator Marshall County, South Dakota Published at the approximate cost of.....