MARSHALL COUNTY PLANNING & ZONING COMMISSION

Proposed Agenda

Regular Scheduled Meeting August 20, 2024– 9:00 AM Marshall County Courthouse, Commissioners Chambers

- I. Call to Order
- II. Roll Call
- III. Approval of Agenda
- IV. Review & Approval of Minutes from August 6, 2024
- V. Matters for Board Discussion
- VI. Open
- VII. Disclosure of Conflicts/Ex Parte Communication
- VIII. New Business:

A. Variance – James & Deanna Stickland

- 1) Staff report by E. Collins-Miles
- 2) Open Public hearing
 - a) Discuss new developments
 - b) Testimony from applicant
 - c) Testimony from proponents and opponents
 - d) Applicant back up for questions (if needed)
- 3) Close public hearing
- 4) Boards Discussion
 - a) Questions for audience (No new topics to be discussed)
 - b) P & Z Boards motion and roll call for vote for recommendation to County Commission

B. Plats

a. Schlekewy Addition

Plat of Lots 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, & 19 Block 1 Schlekewy Addition in Gov't Lot 3 in Section 12, T126N, R54W of the 5th P.M., Marshall County, South Dakota

b. Bair's Second Addition

Plat of Bair's Second Addition Located in the NE1/4 of Section 14, T126N, R54W of the 5^{th} P.M., Marshall County, South Dakota

C. Revised Zoning Regulations for Marshall County, South Dakota

The Marshall County Planning and Zoning Commission will hold a public meeting to receive public input concerning Marshall County's proposed Zoning Regulations. The Planning and Zoning Commission will make a recommendation to the Marshall County Commission concerning the adoption of the Zoning Regulations.

- IX. Building Permits
- X. Other
- XI. Old Business
- XII. Adjourn

MARSHALL COUNTY PLANNING & ZONING BOARD PO BOX 9
BRITTON, SOUTH DAKOTA
UNAPPROVED MINUTES
August 6, 2024

The Marshall County Planning & Zoning Board met at 9:00 AM, August 6, 2024, at the Marshall County Courthouse. Present at the hearing were the following Board members; Matthew Schuller, Doug Medhaug and LeRon Knebel. Commissioner Schuller presided. Commissioners Bender and Luttrell were absent. Others present at the hearing were Erin Collins-Miles, Planning & Zoning and Megan Biel, Auditor.

AGENDA:

Schuller motioned; Knebel seconded to approve the agenda. All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

MINUTES:

Knebel motioned; Medhaug seconded to approve the minutes from July 23, 2024. All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

BUILDING PERMITS:

Medhaug motioned; Knebel seconded to accept building permits for the following applicants: Dale M. Knebel, Karen Christianson and Alan Halvorson, all of Lake Township. All members present voted ave. Motion carried.

Medhaug motioned; Knebel seconded to accept a building permit for the following applicant; Timothy Tracy. Based on the previous variance approval of a garage on June 30, 2020 (BP No. 23-2020), no other setbacks are violated by the structure in question, and all that is required is a building permit (No. 49-24) in the case of this structure. All members present voted aye.

OTHER:

Planning & Zoning Director, Erin Collins-Miles informed the Board of the Natural Hazard Mitigation Plan kickoff meeting which took place on August 5, 2024. Marshall County will be working with NECOG to update the plan prior to its expiration in the Spring. The next meeting is scheduled for September 9th at 1:00 PM. The Zoning Director also mentioned the continuing work on Ordinance updates for Marshall County. The Board was notified of a letter the Zoning Director received from the Department of Agricultural and Natural Resources pertaining to a non-compliant wastewater system that has since been removed. The letter will be filed in the Zoning office, noting that wastewater systems are regulated at the State level and not by the County. The Zoning Director will provide more information on these updates as the information becomes available.

ADJOURN:

Knebel motioned; Medhaug seconded to adjourn as Planning and Zoning Board and convene as Marshall County Commission at 9:21 AM. All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

ATTEST:

Erin Collins-Miles
Marshall County Planning and Zoning Administrator
Marshall County, South Dakota
Published at the approximate cost of.....