MARSHALL COUNTY PLANNING & ZONING COMMISSION

Proposed Agenda

Regular Scheduled Meeting June 18, 2024– 9:00 AM Marshall County Courthouse, Commissioners Chambers

- I. Call to Order
- II. Roll Call
- III. Approval of Agenda
- IV. Review & Approval of Minutes from June 6, 2024
- V. Matters for Board Discussion
- VI. Open
- VII. Disclosure of Conflicts/Ex Parte Communication
- VIII. New Business:

A. Variance – Doug & Amy Jo Vietor

- 1) Staff report by E. Collins-Miles
- 2) Open Public hearing
 - a) Discuss new developments
 - b) Testimony from applicant
 - c) Testimony from proponents and opponents
 - d) Applicant back up for questions (if needed)
- 3) Close public hearing
- 4) Boards Discussion
 - a) Questions for audience (No new topics to be discussed)
 - b) P & Z Boards motion and roll call for vote for recommendation to County Commission
- IX. Building Permits
- X. Other
- XI. Old Business
- XII. Adjourn

MARSHALL COUNTY PLANNING & ZONING BOARD PO BOX 9 BRITTON, SOUTH DAKOTA UNAPPROVED MINUTES June 6, 2024

The Marshall County Planning & Zoning Board met at 9:00 AM, June 6, 2024, at the Marshall County Courthouse. Present at the hearing were the following Board members; Matthew Schuller, Doug Medhaug, Jason Bender and LeRon Knebel. Commissioner Schuller presided. Commissioner Luttrell was absent. Others present at the hearing were Erin Collins-Miles, Planning & Zoning, Megan Biel, Auditor, Daniel Zenk and David Finley.

AGENDA:

Bender motioned; Medhaug seconded to approve the agenda. All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

MINUTES:

Knebel motioned; Medhaug seconded to approve the minutes from May 21, 2024. All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

VARIANCE:

Pertaining to a variance for Daniel Zenk; Discussion was held on the matter of the minimum maintenance road to the North of the proposed building site. A letter from Fort Township stating there was no objection regarding the road was read. Medhaug motioned; Bender seconded to approve the requested 36' variance to the road right-of-way line setback; allowing the home to be built with the requested setbacks; per the Marshall County Zoning Ordinance and to adopt the facts and the recommended findings of the Planning Commission listed in the staff report. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Absent, Knebel – Aye, Bender – Aye, Schuller - Aye. Motion carried.

PLAT:

Knebel motioned; Bender seconded to approve the following plat; D. Lien Addition in Veblen Township. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Absent, Bender – Aye, Knebel – Aye, Schuller – Aye. Motion carried.

BUILDING PERMITS:

Knebel motioned; Bender seconded to accept building permits for the following applicants: Danny & Kaela Jo Zenk of Fort Township, Kirk Jones (Penrhos Farms, Inc.) of Waverly Township, Maxine L. Vrchota of Miller Township and Roger Sonstegard of Lake Township. All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

OTHER:

The second reading and adoption for Ordinance No. 66 took place during regular session at the scheduled June 6, 2024, meeting. Please see the regular session minutes for more information.

Victor Rapkoch, Marshall County States Attorney and Erin Collins-Miles, Zoning Director, will be working to set up another meeting with FEMA for our next scheduled meeting on June 18th, pending all party's ability to attend virtually.

ADJOURN:

Medhaug motioned; Schuller seconded to adjourn as Planning and Zoning Board and convene as Marshall County Commission at 9:16 AM. All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

ATTEST:

Erin Collins-Miles

Marshall County Planning and Zoning Administrator Marshall County, South Dakota Published at the approximate cost of.....