MARSHALL COUNTY PLANNING & ZONING COMMISSION

Proposed Agenda

Regular Scheduled Meeting March 19, 2024–9:00 AM

Marshall County Courthouse, Commissioners Chambers

_	~ 11		\sim 1
I.	('\^	+~	Order
		1()	CHAR

- II. Roll Call
- III. Approval of Agenda
- IV. Review & Approval of Minutes from March 5, 2024
- V. Matters for Board Discussion
- VI. Open
- VII. Disclosure of Conflicts/Ex Parte Communication
- VIII. New Business:

A. Rezone permit Ord. #65 – Gary J. Gangle

- 1) Staff report by E. Collins-Miles
- 2) Open Public hearing
 - a) Testimony from applicant
 - b) Testimony from proponents and opponents
 - c) Applicant back up for questions (if needed)
- 3) Close public hearing
- 4) Board Discussion
 - a) Questions for audience (No new topics to be discussed)
- 5) Motion and roll call vote for recommendation to County Commission
- 6) County Commission to hold 1st Reading (if recommended by P&Z Board)
- IX. Building Permits
- X. Other
- XI. Old Business
- XII. Adjourn

MARSHALL COUNTY PLANNING & ZONING BOARD PO BOX 9 BRITTON, SOUTH DAKOTA UNAPPROVED MINUTES March 5, 2024

The Marshall County Planning & Zoning Board met at 9:00 AM, March 5, 2024, at the Marshall County Courthouse. Present at the hearing were the following Board members; Matthew Schuller, Doug Medhaug, LeRon Knebel and Lynda Luttrell. Commissioner Schuller presided. Others present at the hearing were Erin Collins-Miles, Planning & Zoning, Megan Biel, Auditor, Victor Rapkoch, Marshall County States Attorney, Steve Vietor and Tyler Melroe. Other present via phone at the hearing were Kim & Sandra Alberty and John Stahl.

AGENDA:

Medhaug motioned; Knebel seconded to approve the agenda. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

MINUTES:

Knebel motioned; Medhaug seconded to approve the minutes from February 20, 2024. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

VARIANCE:

Pertaining to an application for Korey Freudenthal; Medhaug motioned; Luttrell seconded to approve the requested 25' (East) and 12.54' (West) variance to the lot size width requirement and a 63.36' (North) and 64.64' (South) variance to the lot size depth requirement; allowing the lot to be created with the requested dimensions; per the Marshall County Zoning Ordinance and to adopt the facts and the recommended findings of the Planning Commission listed in the staff report. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Aye, Knebel – Aye, Schuller - Aye, Motion carried.

DRAINAGE:

Pertaining to an application for Renald Tank; Medhaug motioned; Knebel seconded to approve an application to drain on the property described as the S1/2 of Section 8, T126N, R57W. Conditions to this permit are as follows; to make the construction completion date as seen on permit application; December 1, 2029. Applicant must reapply after said date. Applicant must follow all applicable laws. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Aye, Knebel – Aye, Schuller – Aye. Motion carried.

Pertaining to an application for Newport Colony; Discussion was had over concerns regarding this application. Luttrell motioned; Medhaug seconded to conditionally approve an application to drain on the property described as the NE1/4 & the NW1/4 of Section 26, T126N, R59W. Conditions to this permit are as follows; to make the construction completion date as seen on permit application; December 30, 2027. Applicant must reapply after said date. Applicant must follow all applicable laws. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Aye, Knebel – Aye, Schuller – Aye. Motion carried. Please see full file for conditions to this permit.

Please see full files located in the Planning & Zoning Office for information in regard to recording dates.

OTHER:

Victor, Marshall County State's Attorney, and Erin Collins-Miles, Zoning Director, discussed their recent meeting with FEMA over conference call to discuss Floodplain mapping in Marshall County and questions concerning the process. A meeting with FEMA will be set up in the coming weeks to speak with the Board on these matters.

ADJOURN:

Medhaug motioned; Knebel seconded to adjourn as Planning and Zoning Board and convene as Marshall County Commission at 9:37 AM. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

ATTEST:

Erin Collins-Miles
Marshall County Planning and Zoning Administrator
Marshall County, South Dakota
Published at the approximate cost of.....