MARSHALL COUNTY PLANNING & ZONING COMMISSION

Proposed Agenda

Regular Scheduled Meeting October 24, 2023– 9:00 AM Marshall County Courthouse, Commissioners Chambers

- I. Call to Order
- II. Roll Call
- III. Approval of Agenda
- IV. Review & Approval of Minutes from October 10, 2023
- V. Matters for Board Discussion
- VI. Open
- VII. Disclosure of Conflicts/Ex Parte Communication
- VIII. New Business:

A. Flood Damage Prevention Ordinance for Marshall County, South Dakota

- a) The Marshall County Planning and Zoning Commission will hold a public meeting to receive public input concerning Marshall County's proposed Flood Damage Prevention Ordinance. The Planning and Zoning Commission will make a recommendation to the Marshall County Commission concerning the adoption of the Regulations.
- IX. Building Permits
- X. Other
- XI. Old Business
- XII. Adjourn

MARSHALL COUNTY PLANNING & ZONING BOARD PO BOX 9 BRITTON, SOUTH DAKOTA UNAPPROVED MINUTES

October 10, 2023

The Marshall County Planning & Zoning Board met at 9:00 AM, October 10, 2023, at the Marshall County Courthouse. Present at the hearing were the following Board members; Matthew Schuller, Kevin Jones, Doug Medhaug, LeRon Knebel and Lynda Luttrell. Commissioner Schuller presided. Others present at the hearing were Erin Collins-Miles, Planning & Zoning, Megan Biel, Auditor and Jerry Burger.

AGENDA:

Medhaug motioned; Knebel seconded to approve the agenda. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

MINUTES:

Jones motioned; Medhaug seconded to approve the minutes from September 19, 2023. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

VARIANCE:

Pertaining to a Variance for Mark & Laurie Smtih; Medhaug motioned; Luttrell seconded to approve the requested 15' variance to the normal high-water mark setback; allowing the structure to be built 35ft from the normal high-water mark; per the Marshall County Zoning Ordinance and to adopt the facts and the recommended findings of the Planning Commission listed in the staff report. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Aye, Jones – Aye, Knebel – Aye, Schuller - Aye. Motion carried.

DRAINAGE:

Pertaining to a permit for Ross Vig; Medhaug motioned; Knebel seconded to approve an application to drain on the property described as E1/2NE1/4, less JNE Farmstead in the NE1/4NE1/4, and less Block 1, Anderson's First Addition to Veblen and Outlet A – NE1/4, and less a strip of land in the northeast corner of the NE1/4 and SW1/4NE1/4; All of Section 21, T128N, R53W. Conditions to this permit are as follows; to make the construction completion date as seen on permit application; May 1, 2026. Applicant must reapply after said date. Applicant must follow all applicable laws. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Aye, Jones – Aye, Knebel – Aye, Schuller – Aye. Motion carried.

Pertaining to a permit for David Vig; Knebel motioned; Jones seconded to approve an application to drain on the property described as LOT 1 (NE1/4NE1/4), LOT 2 (NW1/4NE1/4) & S1/2NE1/4 of Section 6, T128N, R53W. Conditions to this permit are as follows; to make the construction completion date as seen on permit application; October 1, 2025. Applicant must reapply after said date. Applicant must follow all applicable laws. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Aye, Jones – Aye, Knebel – Aye, Schuller – Aye. Motion carried.

BUILDING PERMITS:

Medhaug motioned; Jones seconded to accept building permits for the following applicants: Jay & Julie Hagen – Hamilton and Mark & Laurie Smith (Variance) – Lake. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

OTHER:

In regular session, Knebel motioned; Medhaug seconded to adopt Ordinance No. 61.

Revised Zoning Regulations for Marshall County, South Dakota, Ordinance No. 60, became effective on October 10, 2023.

The first notice for the FEMA Floodplain Ordinance will be published in the paper on October 11, 2023, and the first meeting will be held on October 24, 2023.

ADJOURN:

Knebel motioned; Jones seconded to adjourn as Planning and Zoning Board and convene as Marshall County Commission at 9:22 AM. All members voted aye. Motion carried.

ATTEST:

Erin Collins-Miles
Marshall County Planning and Zoning Administrator
Marshall County, South Dakota
Published at the approximate cost of.....