MARSHALL COUNTY PLANNING & ZONING COMMISSION

Proposed Agenda

Regular Scheduled Meeting June 6, 2023–9:00 AM

Marshall County Courthouse, Commissioners Chambers

- I. Call to Order
- II. Roll Call
- III. Approval of Agenda
- IV. Review & Approval of Minutes from May 23, 2023
- V. Matters for Board Discussion
- VI. Open
- VII. Disclosure of Conflicts/Ex Parte Communication
- VIII. New Business:

A. Conditional Use – Wayne Foote (Off-Premise Sign)

- 1) Staff report by E. Collins-Miles
- 2) Open Public hearing
 - a) Discuss new developments
 - b) Testimony from applicant
 - c) Testimony from proponents and opponents
 - d) Applicant back up for questions (if needed)
- 3) Close public hearing
- 4) Boards Discussion
 - a) Questions for audience (No new topics to be discussed)
- 5) P & Z Boards motion and roll call for vote for recommendation to County Commission

B. Variance – David Eiel

- 1) Staff report by E. Collins-Miles
- 2) Open Public hearing
 - a) Discuss new developments
 - b) Testimony from applicant
 - c) Testimony from proponents and opponents
 - d) Applicant back up for questions (if needed)
- 3) Close public hearing
- 4) Boards Discussion
 - a) Questions for audience (No new topics to be discussed)
 - b) P & Z Boards motion and roll call for vote for recommendation to County Commission

C. Drainage – Glen Aldentaler

- 1) Reported by E. Collins-Miles
- 2) Open Public hearing

- a) Discuss new developments
- b) Testimony from applicant
- c) Testimony from proponents and opponents
- d) Applicant back up for questions (if needed)
- 3) Close public hearing
- 4) Boards Discussion
 - a) Questions for audience (No new topics to be discussed)
- 5) Drainage Board motion and roll call for vote

D. Revised Zoning Regulations for Marshall County, South Dakota

- a) The Planning & Zoning Administrator, Erin Collins-Miles will read the first notice for the proposed Zoning Regulations. A copy of the proposed zoning revision is available in its entirety for public review during normal business hours in the offices of the County Zoning Administrator, Erin Collins-Miles and the County Auditor, Megan Biel.
- IX. Building Permits
- X. Other
- XI. Old Business
- XII. Adjourn

MARSHALL COUNTY PLANNING & ZONING BOARD PO BOX 9 BRITTON, SOUTH DAKOTA UNAPPROVED MINUTES

May 23, 2023

The Marshall County Planning & Zoning Board met at 9:15 AM, May 23, 2023, at the Marshall County Courthouse. Present at the hearing were the following Board members; Matthew Schuller, Kevin Jones, Doug Medhaug and LeRon Knebel. Commissioner Luttrell was absent. Commissioner Schuller presided. Others present at the hearing were Erin Collins-Miles, Planning & Zoning, Megan Biel, Auditor, Jenna Nordquist, Jerry Burger and Glen Aldentaler. Sandy Dinger, Kalissa Stelzer and Shelby Thompson were present for portions of the meeting via zoom.

AGENDA:

Knebel motioned; Medhaug seconded to approve the agenda. All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

MINUTES:

Medhaug motioned; Jones seconded to approve the minutes from May 9, 2023. All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

VARIANCE:

Pertaining to Jenna Nordquist; Medhaug motioned; Jones seconded to approve the requested 15' variance to the road right-of-way line setback, 1' variance to the western property line setback, .5' from the eastern property line and an 18' variance to the normal high-water mark setback.; allowing the structure to be placed 15ft from the right-of-way line, the home; 6ft from the western property line and 6.5ft from the eastern property lines and 32ft from the normal high-water mark requirement, per the Marshall County Zoning Ordinance. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Absent, Jones – Aye, Knebel – Aye, Schuller - Aye. Motion carried.

Pertaining to Jay & Jennifer Harris; Knebel motioned; Medhaug seconded to approve the requested 14' variance to the normal high-water mark setback.; allowing the structure to be placed 36ft from the high-water mark setback requirement, per the Marshall County Zoning Ordinance. A roll call vote was taken; Medhaug – Aye, Luttrell – Absent, Jones – Aye, Knebel – Aye, Schuller - Aye. Motion carried.

OTHER:

The Planning & Zoning Administrator, Erin Collins-Miles, read the second notice for the proposed Zoning Regulations at today's hearing. A copy of the proposed zoning revision is available in its entirety for public review during normal business hours in the offices of the County Zoning Administrator, Erin Collins-Miles and the County Auditor, Megan Biel. The second reading was held during regular session on May 23, 2023 at 10:15 AM in the Commissioner's Chambers. Knebel motioned; Medhaug seconded to adopt the Ordinance.

BUILDING PERMITS:

Medhaug motioned; Jones seconded to accept building permits for the following applicants: Codie Jones Lowell Township, Jon Kretchman Red Iron Lake Township, Andrea Vonderharr Red Iron Lake Township, Robert Jensen Lake Township, Jenna Nordquist (variance) Lake Township and Jay & Jennifer Harris (variance) Red Iron Lake Township. All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

ADJOURN:

Knebel motioned; Medhaug seconded to adjourn as Planning and Zoning Board and convene as Marshall County Commission at 9:36 AM. All members present voted aye. Motion carried.

ATTEST:

Erin Collins-Miles
Marshall County Planning and Zoning Administrator
Marshall County, South Dakota
Published at the approximate cost of.....