Unapproved MARSHALL COUNTY COMMISSION MEETING **Britton, South Dakota**

The Board of County Commissioners met in regular session at 9:00 a.m. on September 6, 2022 in the Commissioner Meeting room and via Zoom video conference. Members present were Medhaug, Schuller, Luttrell, Jones, and Knebel. Commissioner Medhaug presided. The meeting was open to the public and was offered via Zoom on computer and conference call. The chairman called the meeting to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited by everyone in attendance. Sandy Dinger, Marshall County Sheriff's Office, and Shelby Thompson were present for portions of the meeting via zoom.

AGENDA:

Knebel moved, Schuller seconded to approve the agenda for September 6, 2022. All members voted aye.

MINUTES:

Jones moved, Luttrell seconded to approve the minutes for August 23, 2022. All members voted aye.

CLAIMS:

Schuller moved, Jones seconded to approve and pay the following claims. All members voted ave. PAYROLL by department: September 1, 2022: Commissioners 1535.60; Auditor 3481.60; Treasurer 4158.01; States Attorney 1928.85; Courthouse 2155.51; Director 4444.10; Register 3199.20; VSO 725.01; Sheriff 14770.58; Coroner 775.00; Welfare 499.34; Nurse 612.48; Ambulance 8421.10; Extension 1090.98; Weed 1083.38; Zoning 2661.20; Highway 14379.34; E911 7725.23; Emergency Management 603.12;

EMPLOYER FICA & MEDICARE: First Savings Bank 5398.33 EMPLOYER SOUTH DAKOTA RETIREMENT SYSTEM: 3827.08

ANN ERICKSON	46.80
ARAMARK	9.01
BCBS KANSAS	33.45
BOUND TREE MEDICAL LLC	94.50
BRITTON CITY WATER DEPT	226.89
CARLSON CRUSHING & EXCAVAT	53,905.08
CENEX FLEETCARD	654.71
CLARK EQUIPMENT COMPANY	2,599.42
COLE PAPERS INC	165.11
DAKOTA GROUP LLC	2,100.00
DEB SUNDEM	108.12
DIRK W WEBER	140.00
DOUG MEDHAUG	112.32
EDEN OIL	3,623.10
ESLINGER, HEIDI	73.68
FREY, MICHAEL	43.44
HOLLAND BROS OIL COMPANY	455.85

HOUSE OF GLASS INC	682.00
JEAN HOMMEL-KESSLER	75.00
JENNIFER RINGKOB	224.72
JULIE HASSEBROCK	44.28
KEVIN JONES	30.42
LANGFORD TOWN	197.77
LARISSA HEITMANN	113.13
LERON KNEBEL	64.35
LYNDA LUTTRELL	28.08
MARCO INC	199.40
MEYER HARDWARE HANK	105.94
MONTE NIPP	44.28
MUSKRAT FARM SUPPLY INC	1,800.00
OTTER TAIL POWER COMPANY	1,816.83
PCC INC	1,486.85
PERRION, SHERRY	110.64
PITNEY BOWES GLOBAL	185.85
QUILL CORPORATION	1,191.97
RAMKOTA HOTEL & CONFERENCE	144.00
RAPKOCH LAW, PROFF L.L.C.	3,788.17
RC TECHNOLOGIES	309.84
SADIE VANDERWAL	80.40
SD DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SA	5,430.00
SOUTHSIDE EQUIPMENT	91.85
STAN HOUSTON EQUIP CO INC	59.94
TANNER SCHIFERL	16.05
TARI HEITMANN	46.80
TAYLER WOLFF	55.20
THOMSON REUTERS - WEST	169.76
VENTURE COMMUNICATIONS	382.16
VERIZON WIRELESS	896.41
WERNER AUTOMOTIVE	141.47

HIGHWAY:

Dustin Hofland, Highway Superintendent met with the board and Sandy Dinger, Highway Secretary met via zoom to discuss Highway Department business. Knebel moved, Jones seconded to approve a right-of-way permit and a boring permit for East River Electric on county road 12GW. All members voted aye.

Knebel moved, Jones seconded to authorize the Chair to sign agreements for temporary easement with the land owners along 438th avenue between 120th and 122nd streets for the upcoming project in this location, county road 12GE (former Eden Twp road.) All members voted aye. No bids were received for BIG Project 8046(00)20-1 PCN 07TY Bridge 46-141-000. The board discussed the Rural Access Infrastructure Grant program. The deadline to turn in 5-year plans for this grant was August 31. The following townships successfully turned their plans

in on time and are eligible to apply for the grant: LaBelle, Sisseton, Waverly and Hickman Townships.

FUEL QUOTES:

Sandy Dinger received the following quotes for #2 diesel for the Britton shop on August 31: DaMar Elevator \$4.00, Full Circle Ag \$4.05, Holland Bros. Oil \$4.357. Diesel fuel was delivered to the Britton Shop by DaMar Elevator.

HOSPITAL:

Nick Fosness, Marshall County Healthcare Center CEO met with the board to give an update on the Hospital project and to thank Marshall County for its continued support of the hospital and clinic.

PROVISIONAL BUDGET:

Luttrell moved, Knebel seconded to approve the provisional budget. All members voted aye.

RESIGNATION:

The board accepted a resignation from Scott Lindner, Deputy Sheriff, effective September 18.

RURAL ACCESS INFRASTRUCTURE:

Jay Hill, Neil Bien, Ron Johnson, Bryan Hawkinson, Doug Chapin, Casey Jones, Roger Johnson, and Wayne Nelson, representing the townships of White, Waverly, Sisseton, Veblen, and Nordland were present in person or via zoom for discussion of the Rural Access Infrastructure Grant program. Townships that have submitted their 5-year plans to the County by August 31 are eligible to apply for this grant and were given further information on the application and selection process.

TRAVEL:

ADJOURN:

Jones moved, Luttrell seconded to authorize the following travel expenses: Kassi Jones to Pierre for Assessor School September 18-23; Larissa Heitmann to Fort Sisseton September 7 for Eco Ed day. All members voted aye.

Knebel moved, Schuller seconded to adjourn	. All members voted aye.
ATTEST:	
	Doug Medhaug, Chairman
Megan Biel, Auditor	

Published once at the total approximate cost of_____.