# Unapproved MARSHALL COUNTY COMMISSION MEETING Britton, South Dakota

The Board of County Commissioners met in regular session at 9:00 a.m. on June 9, 2022 in the Commissioner Meeting room and via Zoom video conference. Members present were Medhaug, Schuller, Luttrell, Jones, and Knebel. Commissioner Medhaug presided. The meeting was open to the public and was offered via Zoom on computer and conference call. The chairman called the meeting to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited by everyone in attendance. Shelby Thompson, Angie Hammrich, Deb Skonberg, Logan Roehr and Sandy Dinger were present for portions of the meeting via zoom.

#### **AGENDA:**

Schuller moved, Knebel seconded to approve the agenda for June 9, 2022. All members voted aye.

# **MINUTES:**

Luttrell moved, Jones seconded to approve the minutes for May 24, 2022. All members voted aye.

#### **CLAIMS:**

Schuller moved, Jones seconded to approve and pay the following claims. All members voted aye. PAYROLL by department: May 26, 2022: Commissioners 1495.60; Auditor 3392.40; Treasurer 4158.00; States Attorney 2355.25; Courthouse 2802.52; Director 4576.35; Register 3738.19; VSO 725.01; Sheriff 18176.09; Jail 20.00; Welfare 499.34; Nurse 575.04; Extension 862.56; Weed 931.96; Zoning 1861.20; Highway 13354.36; E911 8184.46; Emergency Management 563.13;

EMPLOYER FICA & MEDICARE: First Savings Bank 5078.70 EMPLOYER SOUTH DAKOTA RETIREMENT SYSTEM: 4103.80

ALL FLAGS, LLC	47.43
ARAMARK	9.01
BIEL, MEGAN	37.92
BRITTON CITY WATER DEPT	291.02
CARLSON CRUSHING & EXCAVAT	7,810.97
CENEX FLEETCARD	745.89
CENTURYLINK	108.63
CLIFF'S ONE STOP	19.98
COLE PAPERS INC	291.31
COTEAU DES PRAIRIE HOSPITA	2,593.93
DAKOTA COUNSELING GROUP	2,100.00
DAVE DABERKOW	66.45
DAVIDSON PLUMBING & HEATIN	120.08
DAY COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFIC	675.00
DELANEY NIELSEN SANNES PC	348.00
DIESEL MACHINERY INC	165.39

DIDKIMANEDED	75.00
DIRK W WEBER	75.00
DOUG MEDHAUG	112.32
DT PHARMACY	47.62
EDEN OIL	12,125.00
EXPETEC TECHNOLOGY SERVICE	594.49
FIRST NATIONAL BANK	546.12
FIRST SAVINGS BANK	16,910.02
FULL CIRCLE AG	258.95
HOLLAND BROS OIL COMPANY	1,266.04
HOLLAND NAPA AUTO PARTS	627.49
IAN MACDONALD	220.25
JOHNSON CONTROLS	186.66
KEVIN JONES	28.08
KRAUSE BROS CONSTRUCTION	366.00
LAKE REGION ELECTRIC	131.70
LANGFORD TOWN	194.99
LERON KNEBEL	64.35
LYLE SIGNS INC	30.26
LYNDA LUTTRELL	28.08
MARCO TECHNOLOGIES LLC	168.86
MARSHALL COUNTY HEALTHCARE	29.18
MARSHALL COUNTY JOURNAL	1,058.60
MATHESON TRI-GAS INC	67.57
MEYER HARDWARE HANK	474.21
MICROFILM IMAGING SYSTEMS	80.00
MINN KOTA COMMUNICATIONS I	200.00
MODERN MARKETING	436.02
OFFICE OF CHILD SUPPORT	241.85
OTTER TAIL POWER COMPANY	1,371.52
PCC INC	1,012.79
PITNEY BOWES GLOBAL	185.85
PREMIER POLICE TRAINING, L	735.00
QUILL CORPORATION	423.63
RAPKOCH LAW, PROFF L.L.C.	3,788.17
RC TECHNOLOGIES	309.84
ROBERTS COUNTY SHERIFF'S O	3,108.77
SANFORD	2,099.40
SANFORD	181.86
SATELLITE TRACKING OF PEOP	100.75
SD PUBLIC ASSURANCE ALLIAN	656.34
SD PUBLIC HEALTH LABORATOR	290.00
SD VSOA	100.00
SEACHANGE PRINT INNOVATION	185.00

TALIAFERRO LAW FIRM P.C.	267.05
TRANSOURCE TRUCK & EQUIPME	904.20
TRI STATE WATER, INC.	107.00
TRUIST EQUIPMENT FINANCE C	35,666.36
U.S. POSTAL SERVICE	474.00
VERIZON WIRELESS	865.33
WERNER AUTOMOTIVE	70.79

### **PUBLIC COMMENT:**

No one was present to make public comment.

#### **HIGHWAY:**

Dustin Hofland, Highway Superintendent and Sandy Dinger, Highway Secretary met with the board via Zoom. Schuller moved, Knebel seconded to pass Resolution 2022-05 granting WEB Water Development Association, Inc., a county-wide authorization for the purpose of the continued placement, repair, and maintenance of new pipeline and related appurtences for the Marshall County portion of the WEB Water Development Association water system. All members voted aye.

Jones moved, Schuller seconded to amend the following motion made on April 26: Knebel moved, Schuller seconded to authorize the chair to sign the striping agreement with the State for county road 09AN, 04AC and 07AN. The total cost of the project is \$26,591.40 with the County's portion being \$18,781.33. All members voted aye. To add project number 00S(00)231, PCN 07DM to this motion. All members voted aye. Schuller moved, Luttrell seconded to authorize the chair to sign the agreement with SD DOT for BRO 8046(06) PCN 08NM for the removal of structure 46-090-198 (3.2N2E of Langford.) All members voted aye.

# **FUEL QUOTES:**

Sandy Dinger received the following quotes for #2 diesel for the Langford and Eden shops on May 24: Eden Oil \$4.25-all locations. No other bids were available at the time delivery was needed. Diesel fuel was delivered to the Langford and Eden shops by Eden Oil.

Sandy Dinger received the following quotes for gasoline for the Britton shop on May 31: DaMar Elevator \$4.18, Eden Oil \$4.15. No other bids were available at the time delivery was needed. Gasoline was delivered to the Britton Shop by Eden Oil.

# **SURPLUS:**

Knebel moved, Jones seconded to declare the following items previously used by the Weed Department surplus: 275-gallon aluminum water tank; 3 Raven spray metering cones; 1 gas motor with water/spray pump; 1 Raven electronic controls. Sealed bids for these items will be accepted until July 19, at which time they will be opened and publicly read and considered for the sale of the items. All members voted aye.

#### **ALCOHOLIC BEVERAGE LICENSES:**

Jones moved, Knebel seconded to approve a 1-day Retail Malt Beverage and SD Farm Wine license for North Marshall Fire Department for Maxwell Electric on July 15. All members voted aye.

Luttrell moved, Schuller seconded to approve the transfer of a Retail Malt Beverage and SD Farm Wine license from Roy View, LLC., to Clear Lake Investments, LLP. All members voted ave.

Knebel moved, Schuller seconded to approve a Retail Malt Beverage and SD Farm Wine license renewal for Clear Lake Investments, LLP. All members voted aye.

#### TRAVEL:

Luttrell moved, Knebel seconded to authorize the following travel expenses: Jennifer Ringkob to Aberdeen to pick up a STEM trailer the week of June 20; Kassi Jones and MiKayla Lentsch to Deadwood June 27-30 for a NCRAAO/SDAAO Conference. All members voted aye.

# **ELECTION CANVASS:**

The board canvassed the votes for the June 7, 2022 Primary Election. Jones moved, Luttrell seconded to authorize the board to sign the official canvass report. All members voted ave.

# **RESIGNATION:**

Aaron Lee, Sheriff's Deputy resigned from his position effective June 23, 2022. Marshall County would like to thank Deputy Lee for his dedication and service to the residents of Marshall County and wish him the best in his future endeavors.

#### **PAY RAISE:**

Per a one-year review, Knebel moved, Luttrell seconded to authorize a pay raise for Sheriff's Deputy Tanner Schiferl from \$22.65 to \$22.90 effective June 5, 2022. All members voted ave.

Jones moved, Schuller seconded to appoint Ian MacDonald as Civil Process Deputy and authorize a pay raise from \$22.65 to \$23.15 effective June 19, 2022. All members voted aye.

# **EXECUTIVE SESSION:**

Jones moved, Luttrell seconded to enter into executive session to discuss personnel matters at 10:25 am. All members voted ave. The chairman called the board out of executive session at 10:40 am. No action was taken.

ADJOURN: Knebel moved, Luttrell seconded to adjourn. All members voted aye.	
ATTEST:	
	Doug Medhaug, Chairman
Megan Biel, Auditor	

Published once at the total approximate cost of\_\_\_\_\_.