Unapproved MARSHALL COUNTY COMMISSION MEETING Britton, South Dakota

The Board of County Commissioners met in regular session at 9:00 a.m. on August 24, 2021 in the Commissioner Meeting room and via Zoom video conference. Members present were Medhaug, Jones, Schuller, Luttrell and Knebel. Commissioner Medhaug presided. The meeting was open to the public and was offered via Zoom on computer and conference call. The Chairman called the meeting to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited by everyone in attendance. Shelby Thompson and Sandy Dinger were present for portions of the meeting via Zoom.

AGENDA:

Luttrell moved, Schuller seconded approve the agenda for August 24, 2021. All members voted aye.

MINUTES:

Jone moved, Luttrell seconded to approve the minutes for August 10, 2021. All members voted aye.

CLAIMS:

Schuller moved, Jones seconded to approve and pay the following claims. All members voted aye. PAYROLL by department: August 18, 2021: Commissioners 1544.35; Auditor 3467.52; Treasurer 3558.78; States Attorney 1508.29; Courthouse 2396.21; Director 2977.67; Register 2756.82; VSO 681.33; Sheriff 15106.78; Jail 4612.77; Welfare 475.56; Nurse 554.16; Extension 1063.44; Weed 1180.95; Zoning 2332.57; Highway 12834.15; E911 2656.86; Emergency Management 536.31; EMPLOYER FICA & MEDICARE: First Savings Bank 4450.71 EMPLOYER SOUTH DAKOTA RETIREMENT SYSTEM: 3414.15

A & B BUSINESS INC SOLUTIO	33.65
AGTEGRA BATH FERTILIZER	399.54
ALL FLAGS, LLC	36.12
ARAMARK	59.34
ARTISTIC CUSTOM BADGE AND	718.70
CATHY SCHMITZ	76.20
CENTURY LINK	288.15
COTEAU DES PRAIRIES HOSPIT	86.97
CREDIT COLLECTIONS BUREAU	23.58
DAY COUNTY SHERIFF'S OFFIC	1,050.00
DEB SUNDEM	110.64
DOLLAR GENERAL-REGIONS 410	33.25
ESLINGER, HEIDI	76.20
FREY, MICHAEL	43.44
FULL CIRCLE AG	1.00
GAIL OBRIEN	46.80
HOLLAND NAPA AUTO PARTS	2.00

60.00
187.88
6,950.96
44.28
147.60
3,327.00
128.70
115.91
5.78
155.00
1.00
44.28
156.21
2,000.00
768.87
154.00
850.00
1,097.00
180.00
50.00
2,821.50
800.00
1,480.00
34.85
164.82
2,111.43
582.73

ZONING:

Erin Collins-Miles, Zoning Director was present to discuss Zoning business. Luttrell moved, Knebel seconded to approve the following plat: Plat of BS Lazy H Agg Land Addition in the NW1/4 in Section 22, T127N, R57W of the 5th P.M., Marshall County, South Dakota. All members voted aye. Knebel moved, Schuller seconded to approve building permits for the following applicants: Person Family Trust, Mary Prince. All members voted aye.

Collins-Miles informed the board that the Notice for Hearing regarding the Ordinance changes will go into the newspaper this week and the hearing will be held on September 7.

HIGHWAY:

Highway Superintendent Dustin Hofland met with the board and Highway Secretary Sandy Dinger met via Zoom to discuss Highway business. Knebel moved, Jones seconded to approve an approach permit for Richard Curran. All members voted aye. Hofland reported that it is still unknown if the Chip Seal project will be completed this

year. The Highway department might do more patching this year, however. The board reviewed the requirements for the Rural Access Infrastructure program. Hofland will look into this further.

NEW HIRE:

Hofland reported that Darrel VanderVorst has been hired as a highway laborer at a rate of \$15.00/hour effective August 30.

PROPERTY/SERVICE EXCHANGE:

Knebel moved, Jones seconded to authorize the chair to sign a property/service exchange agreement with Day County wherein Marshall County agrees to give Day County a 2008 Ford Crown Victoria patrol vehicle in exchange for Day County giving Marshall County 35 jail days to hold Marshall County inmates. All members voted aye.

COMMUNITY BUILDING:

Knebel moved, Schuller seconded to modify Maintenance Personnel Bill College's job duties to include cleaning the Community Building and Maintenance Work at the Courthouse, Community Building and Ambulance Facility at a total rate of \$31,500 annually. This will be a salaried position with part-time benefits. All members voted aye.

TRAVEL:

Schuller moved, Knebel seconded to authorize the following travel expenses: Megan Biel, Kalissa Stelzer, Pam Oelkers, Matthew Schuller, Leron Knebel, Lynda Luttrell, Dustin Hofland, and Linda Haaland to Rapid City September 13-14 for County Convention; Karole Chapin to West Fargo, ND September 13-16 for 2021 Dakota 911 Conference. All members voted aye.

Knebel moved, Jones seconded to adjourn. All members voted ave.

Published once at the total approximate cost of_____.

ADJOURN:

ATTEST:		
	Doug Medhaug, Chairman	
Megan Biel, Auditor		