Unapproved MARSHALL COUNTY COMMISSION MEETING Britton, South Dakota

The Board of County Commissioners met in regular session at 9:00 a.m. on December 15, 2020 In the Commissioner Meeting room and via Zoom video conference. Members present were Medhaug, Schuller, Luttrell, Jones and Knebel. Commissioner Medhaug presided. The meeting was open to the public and was offered via Zoom on computer and conference call. The chairman called the meeting to order and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited by everyone in attendance. Shelby Thompson, Erin Collins-Miles, and Sandy Dinger were present for portions of the meeting in person or via zoom.

AGENDA:

Knebel moved, Jones seconded to approve the agenda for December 15, 2020. All members voted aye.

MINUTES:

Schuller moved, Luttrell seconded to approve the minutes for December 1, 2020. All members voted aye.

CLAIMS:

Schuller moved, Jones seconded to approve and pay the following claims. All members voted aye. PAYROLL by department: December 10, 2020: Commissioners 1403.90; Auditor 3321.31; Treasurer 3785.89; States Attorney 1459.68; Courthouse 1408.27; Director 5881.34; Register 2698.65; VSO 541.17; Community Building 628.41; Sheriff 20412.92; Jail 4571.36; Welfare 467.61; Nurse 457.50; Extension 742.50; Weed 426.43; Zoning 1600.15; Highway 13263.01; E911 2630.28; Emergency Management 527.34; EMPLOYER FICA & MEDICARE: First Savings Bank 7268.99

A & B BUSINESS INC SOLUTIO	264.11
BAUS OIL CO	371.52
BAUS REPAIR	118.54
BOUND TREE MEDICAL LLC	20.10
BRITTON CITY WATER DEPT	288.64
BRITTON JOURNAL	66.75
BROWN COUNTY JAIL	935.00
BUTLER MACHINERY CO	2,889.05
CARLSON CRUSHING & EXCAVAT	379.62
CDJ ELECTRIC PLUMBING	197.91
CENEX	32.17
CENEX FLEETCARD	245.83
COGLEY LAW OFFICE, PROF LL	1,193.10
DAMAR FARMERS ELEVATOR	2,927.44
DAVID HUNTER	330.05
DAVIDSON PLUMBING & HEATIN	135.62
DETECTACHEM	97.00

EDEN LUMBER COMPANY	4.98
EDEN OIL	4,679.30
EXPETEC TECHNOLOGY SERVICE	269.00
FIRST NATIONAL BANK	285.78
FULL CIRCLE AG	674.86
GRAHAM TIRE CO INC	5,103.22
GRAND SLAM COMPUTERS INC	1,527.00
HOLLAND BROS OIL COMPANY	349.95
HOLLAND NAPA AUTO PARTS	132.95
I & S GROUP, INC.	1,632.00
IMEG	9,749.48
JASON DEVINE	1,290.00
JENNIFER RINGKOB	112.43
JOHN DEERE FINANCIAL	2,534.04
KENS FOOD FAIR	101.57
KONICA MINOLTA PREMIER FIN	101.39
LAKE REGION ELECTRIC	396.84
LANGFORD TOWN	201.58
LOGAN SMITH	80.00
MARCO TECHNOLOGIES LLC	50.26
MARQUETTE, MIKE	127.80
MARSHALL CO MEDICAL	315.14
MENARDS/ ABERDEEN	329.80
MEYER HARDWARE HANK	86.27
MINN KOTA COMMUNICATIONS I	904.45
OTTER TAIL POWER COMPANY	199.00
PCC INC	7,216.78
PITNEY BOWES GLOBAL	185.85
QUILL CORPORATION	233.61
RC TECHNOLOGIES	309.84
RDO EQUIPMENT CO	352,640.00
REIN CONSTRUCTION INC	5,225.00
SD ASSOC OF COUNTY WEED &	50.00
SD PUBLIC HEALTH LABORATOR	40.00
THOMSON REUTERS - WEST	585.56
TITAN MACHINERY	1,419.90
TRANSOURCE TRUCK & EQUIPME	322.80
TRI STATE WATER, INC.	119.20
VENTURE COMMUNICATIONS	202.75
VERIZON WIRELESS	693.95

ZONING:

Erin Collins-Miles, Zoning Director, met with the board to discuss Zoning Department business. Jones moved, Schuller seconded to approve the following plat: Plat of RR1 in the SE1/4 of Section 19, T128N, R57W of the 5th P.M., in the Town of Kidder, Marshall County, South Dakota. All members voted aye.

Schuller moved, Luttrell seconded to approve the following plat: Plat of Lot RR1 in the SE1.4 of Section 9. T126N, R59W of the 5th P.M., in the Town of Amherst, Marshall County, South Dakota. All members voted aye.

Knebel moved, Jones seconded to approve building permits for the following applicants: Mike Sebek and Brian Griffith. All members voted aye.

HIGHWAY:

Dustin Hofland, Highway Superintendent met with the board and Sandy Dinger, Highway Secretary met with the board via Zoom to discuss Highway Department Business. Hofland informed the board that they highway department has been working on blading roads, and will start working on projects for 2021 soon. Jones moved, Knebel seconded to authorize Hofland to purchase two (2)- ¾ ton pickups and one (1)- 1-ton pickup as some of the vehicles currently used by the highway department need to be replaced soon with newer, more reliable vehicles. Hofland will make the purchases off of the State Bid contract. All members voted aye.

Luttrell moved, Jones seconded so declare the 2004 International 9400 Semi Truck surplus and to advertise it for sale by sealed bids as is. All members voted aye. Dinger presented the November distribution report and a preliminary December report. End of year Budget funding allowed for the purchase of the "in-production" of the 772G John Deere and Little Falls snow equipment ordered in 2020 and being delivered in 2021.

TRAVEL:

Medhaug moved, Jones seconded to approve travel expenses for the highway department employees to travel to Aberdeen for MSHA training in February 2021. All members voted aye.

EXECUTIVE SESSION:

Schuller moved, Knebel seconded to enter into executive session at 10:05 am to discuss personnel issues. All members voted aye. The chairman called the board out of executive session at 11:11 am. No action was taken.

HARDSHIP PAY:

The Commissioners recognize that this had been a difficult year for everyone and would like to thank the Marshall County employees for their hard work and dedication to public service. Marshall County is a better place to live because of the work that our employees do. Luttrell moved, Knebel seconded to authorize a one-time hardship pay as follows: -Full Time employees hired before March 1, 2020 and still employed with Marshall County and Ambulance Employees who have worked over 700 call hours this year as of the last pay period will receive \$1,000.

-Part Time employees hired before March 1, 2020 and still employed with Marshall County and Ambulance Employees who have worked less than 700 call hours this year as of the last pay period will receive \$500

-Any employees hired after March 1, 2020 will receive \$250 All members voted aye.

MUSEUM:

Luttrell moved, Schuller seconded to make an additional \$2,000 contribution to the Marshall County Prayer Rock Museum. All members voted aye.

BUDGET:

Contingency

Knebel moved, Jones seconded to approve the following contingency budget transfers: Auditor \$9,000; Treasurer \$12,000; Community Building \$17,000; Zoning \$14,000; Urban and Rural Development \$136; General Fund Debt Services \$1,400; Highway Fund Debt Services \$32,240; E911 \$3,750; Sheriff \$10,000. All members voted aye.

Cash Transfer

Knebel moved, Jones seconded to approve the following budgeted cash transfer from the General Fund: E911 \$41,930; Emergency Management \$25,045. All members voted aye.

Automatic Supplement

Knebel moved, Jones seconded to approve the following automatic budget supplements: \$12,849.62 Federal Overtime Grant and \$11,355 Public Safety Grant to the Sheriff Budget. \$11,250 Hazardous Mitigation Grant and \$8,176 Toughbooks Grant to the Emergency Management Budget. All members voted aye.

EASEMENT:

Knebel moved, Jones seconded to approve an easement for Ottertail Power Company for the construction of an electric line. All members voted aye.

RESIGNATION:

The board accepted a letter of resignation from Rhonda Elsen, Community Building Housekeeper, effective December 18, 2020.

ADJOURN:

Knebel moved, Luttrell seconded to adjourn. All members voted aye.

ATTEST:	
	Doug Medhaug, Chairman
Megan Biel, Auditor	
Published once at the total approximate cost of	