# Unapproved MARSHALL COUNTY COMMISSION MEETING Britton, South Dakota

The Board of County Commissioners met in regular session at 9:00 a.m. on September 1, 2020 at the Marshall County Courthouse. Members present were Medhaug, Schuller, Jones and Luttrell. Commissioner Knebel was present via zoom. Commissioner Medhaug presided. The meeting was open to the public and was offered via Zoom on computer and conference call. Kalissa Stelzer, Sandy Dinger, Shelby Thompson, Linda and Dave Carruthers, and Larry Dean were present for portions of the meeting via zoom.

#### **AGENDA:**

Knebel moved, Jones seconded to approve the agenda for September 1, 2020. All members voted aye.

#### **MINUTES:**

Schuller moved, Luttrell seconded to approve the minutes for August 25, 2020. All members voted aye.

#### **CLAIMS:**

Jones moved, Medhaug seconded to approve and pay the following claims. All members voted aye.

AVERA PATIENT FINANCIAL SE	5,973.50
BRITTON JOURNAL	712.15
CENEX FLEETCARD	112.60
DOUG MEDHAUG	73.60
EDEN LUMBER COMPANY	14.77
FROHLING LAW OFFICE	3,680.67
KEVIN JONES	16.10
LANGFORD TOWN	185.00
LOGAN SMITH	100.00
LYNDA LUTTRELL	27.60
NORTH CENTRAL HEART INSTIT	1,022.57
OTTER TAIL POWER COMPANY	1,761.59
PITNEY BOWES	2,000.00
QUILL CORPORATION	504.48
SAFE HARBOR	595.00
SD DEPT TRANSPORTATION	3,956.41
WERNER AUTOMOTIVE	266.35

# **PUBLIC COMMENT:**

No one was present to make public comment.

#### **ZONING:**

Erin Collins-Miles, Zoning Director met with the board to discuss Zoning business. Linda and Dave Carruthers was present via zoom to request a 4 foot variance from the 7 foot property line setback and a 15 foot variance to the 30 foot right of way line setback. Luttrell moved, Schuller seconded to approve the variances as requested. All members voted aye.

Schuller moved, Jones seconded to approve the following plat: Plat of Lot 2 of Riverview Addition in the NE1/4 of Section 24, T128N, R53W of the 5<sup>th</sup> P.M., Marshall County, South Dakota. All members voted aye.

Medhaug moved, Jones seconded to approve building permits for the following applicants: David and Linda Carruthers, Matt Nelson, Helen Mairs, SMJ International o/b/o T-Mobile. All members voted aye.

#### **HIGHWAY:**

Dustin Hofland, Highway Superintendent and Sandy Dinger, Highway Secretary, met with the board to discuss Highway department business. Larry Dean, SD DOT met with the board to discuss the process of adding or deleting roads from the County Highway System. Dean will work with Sandy Dinger to draft a resolution for Marshall County to take over two miles of 438<sup>th</sup> Avenue and delete the portion of county road 12GE that runs from 438<sup>th</sup> Ave to Highway 25 that has been under water for a number of years.

#### PROVISIONAL BUDGET:

Luttrell moved, Schuller seconded to approve the provisional budget. All members voted aye.

#### TREASURER:

Pam Oelkers, Deputy Treasurer met with the board to present payment plans for individuals who owe back taxes. The board to take regular payments for back taxes on properties owned by Dianna Kriz, Misty Wilkinson, Norma Flores and Lenora Haug.

## **REGISTER OF DEEDS:**

Kalissa Stelzer, Register of Deeds met with the board to inform them that Nicole Kwasniewski has been hired as Deputy Register of Deeds effective September 14 at a rate of \$15.54/hour.

#### **COURTHOUSE:**

Schuller moved, Luttrell seconded to authorize the chair to sign the Acknowledgement and Acceptance of ISG to proceed with the facility assessment and concept floor plan as discussed August 25 for \$20,000. All members voted aye.

### **ADJOURN:**

Luttrell moved, Medhaug seconded to adjourn. All members voted ave

Lutten moved, Mediaug seconded to adj	ourn. An inclineers voice aye.	
ATTEST:		
	Doug Medhaug, Chairman	_
Megan Biel, Auditor		

Published once at the total approximate cost of\_\_\_\_\_.