Unapproved MARSHALL COUNTY COMMISSION MEETING Britton, South Dakota

The Board of County Commissioners met in regular session at 9:00 a.m. on June 9, 2020 at the Marshall County Courthouse. Members present were Medhaug, Knebel, Schuller, Luttrell, and Jones. Commissioner Medhaug presided. The meeting was open to the public and was offered via Zoom on computer and conference call.

AGENDA:

Knebel moved, Jones seconded to approve the agenda for June 9, 2020. All members voted aye.

PUBLIC COMMENT:

Shannon lee, Director of Equalization met with the board to discuss the County Discretionary Formula. Lee wanted to check with the board if there were any changes they would like to see made to the discretionary formula before she asks the State's Attorney to draft the resolution for adoption. A new resolution needs to be adopted due to changes in the state statute. The board asked that Lee keep the Discretionary Formula as it has been in Marshall County.

SHERIFF:

The board discussed starting wages for new deputy sheriffs. Jones moved, Knebel seconded to start new non-certified deputies at \$20.00/hour and certified deputies at \$20.33/hour. All members voted aye.

TRAVEL POLICY:

Dana Frohling, Victor Rapkoch, Shannon Lee and Erin Collins-Miles were present for discussion of employee travel during the Covid-19 Pandemic. Jones moved, Knebel seconded to implement the following travel policy:

Any employee who travels by airplane shall quarantine for 14 days after returning. Hourly employees on quarantine shall receive one-half of their normal rate of pay for the 14-day period. Employees may use Vacation or Sick time to make up the difference in pay. Salaried employees shall receive their normal rate of pay during the quarantine time. Employees shall work from home during the quarantine time if possible. This pay allowance may be used one time per calendar year. Marshall County does not have a restriction on ground travel at this time. This policy is effective immediately and can be reviewed and modified by the board at any time.

All members voted aye.

EXECUTIVE SESSION:

Schuller moved, Jones seconded to enter into Executive Session at 9:30 am to discuss personnel issues. All members voted aye. Chairman Medhaug called the board out of Executive Session at 12:23 pm. No Action was taken.

ADJOURN:

Medhaug moved, Knebel seconded to adjourn. All members voted aye.

ATTEST:	
	Doug Medhaug, Chairman
Megan Biel, Auditor	
Published once at the total approximate cost of	