Unapproved MARSHALL COUNTY COMMISSION MEETING Britton, South Dakota

The Board of County Commissioners met in regular session at 9:00 a.m. on November 7, 2017 at the Marshall County Courthouse. Members present were Symens, Schuller, Medhaug and Luttrell. Commissioner Knebel was absent. Commissioner Medhaug presided.

AGENDA:

Luttrell moved, Symens seconded to approve the agenda for November 7, 2017. All members present voted aye.

MINUTES:

Schuller moved, Symens seconded to approve the minutes for October 10, 2017. All members present voted aye.

CLAIMS:

Luttrell moved, Symens seconded to approve and pay the following claims. All members present voted aye. PAYROLL by department: October 19, 2017: Commissioners 1305.80; Auditor 2759.96; Treasurer 3386.85; States Attorney 1348.94; Courthouse 1722.23; Director 4038.45; Register 2759.42; VSO 600.99; Community Building 668.62; Welfare 473.18; Nurse 434.83; Extension 1294.44; Weed 1485.70; Zoning 349.62; Highway 14678.58; Emergency Management 473.14; **EMPLOYER FICA & MEDICARE: First Savings Bank 8920.64 EMPLOYER SOUTH DAKOTA RETIREMENT SYSTEM: 3660.58** November 2, 2017: Commissioners 1305.80; Auditor 2652.85; Treasurer 3735.57; States Attorney 1348.94; Courthouse 1754.47; Director 4038.45; Register 2805.65; VSO 593.29; Community Building 611.96; Sheriff 27747.78; Jail 8578.97; Welfare 479.11; Nurse 449.77; Ambulance 8735.52; Weed 1601.74; Zoning 349.62; Highway 14825.42; E911 5342.64; Emergency Management 463.54; **EMPLOYER FICA & MEDICARE: First Savings Bank 20564.86 EMPLOYER SOUTH DAKOTA RETIREMENT SYSTEM: 8262.26 4H LEADERS** 70.00 A & B BUSINESS INC SOLUTIO 70.00 ACCESS ELEVATOR INC 190.64 AMANDA STREIER 42.41 AMERIPRIDE SERVICES INC 97.27 APCO INTERNATIONAL MEMBERS 92.00 AVERA HEART HOSPITAL 76.00 147.40 BARD, BRIAN BARD, BRIAN 138.12 **BEHNKE SAND & GRAVEL** 238.00 **BEST WESTERN PLUS RAMKOTA** 186.00 169.75 **BRITTON CITY WATER DEPT** 354.98 BRITTON CITY WATER DEPT

BRITTON JOURNAL	171.02
BRITTON JOURNAL	582.81
CARLSON CRUSHING & EXCAVAT	22,709.58
CENEX ELEFTCARD	22,705.58
CENTURY LINK	327.87
CHIEF LAW ENFORCEMENT SUPP	181.27
CHIEF LAW ENFORCEMENT SUPP	153.57
CLIFF'S ONE STOP	609.65
COLE PAPERS INC	145.64
DACOTAH PAPER COMPANY	134.04
DACOTAH PAPER COMPANY	82.58
DAN HAGEN REPAIR, INC.	572.71
DARCY LOCKWOOD	15.00
DAVID N NELSON	66.20
DELTA GLOVES	590.40
DIANE LENTSCH	16.99
DMC WEAR PARTS LLC	1,429.76
DOODY LAW OFFICE	198.20
DOUG OELKERS	17.99
EDEN OIL	16,800.00
ENVIRONMENTAL SYSTEMS RESE	400.00
FIRST NATIONAL BANK	277.32
FROHLING LAW OFFICE	3,605.00
FULL CIRCLE AG	43.79
GALLS	99.99
HOLLAND BROS OIL COMPANY	21.95
JENNIFER RINGKOB	63.85
JOHN DEERE FINANCIAL	2,500.00
KCH LAW	146.24
KONICA MINOLTA PREMIER FIN	96.56
KRAUSE BROS CONSTRUCTION	329.81
LAKE REGION ELECTRIC	154.39
LANDMARK, TODD	117.06
LANGFORD BUGLE	157.52
LANGFORD BUGLE	530.81
LANGFORD TOWN	174.89
LINCOLN CO. TREASURER	147.73
LINCOLN CO. TREASURER	199.88
LINDA HAALAND	50.40
LORI AMERMAN	113.94
LUCY LEWNO	150.46
MARCO INC	22.94
MARCO INC	98.46

MARK KATTERHAGEN	15.00
MARSHALL CO TREASURER	1,531.97
MARSHALL COUNTY HEALTHCARE	297.04
MATHESON TRI-GAS INC	24.42
MATTHEW BENDER & CO., INC.	98.08
MAXWELL ELECTRIC LLC	1,860.75
MEYER HARDWARE HANK	368.30
MEYER TRACTOR SALVAGE	1,100.00
MICROFILM IMAGING SYSTEMS	40.00
MINN KOTA COMMUNICATIONS I	379.50
MOTOROLA	5,281.00
NEIBER, DAN	50.00
NORMA BAKER	25.00
OAKS AMBULANCE	170.65
OTTER TAIL POWER COMPANY	182.36
OTTER TAIL POWER COMPANY	1,058.88
PCC INC	1,057.78
PITNEY BOWES	2,018.50
QUILL CORPORATION	363.88
QUILL CORPORATION	287.15
RAMKOTA INN	465.00
RC COMMUNICATIONS	309.84
RICHARD BENDA	35.12
SAFETY BENEFITS INC	130.00
SD ASSN COUNTY COMMRS	1,648.00
SD ASSOCIATION COUNTY OFFI	850.92
SD COUNTIES	3,123.60
SD DEPT TRANSPORTATION	288.67
SDML WORKERS COMPENSATION	32,078.00
SHANNON LEE	127.24
SIEGEL BARNETT & SCHUTZ LL	943.92
SOS TIRE	115.00
TAMMY STOLLE COURT REPORTI	221.60
TEAM LAB	1,538.50
TRI STATE WATER, INC.	42.40
VENTURE COMMUNICATIONS	1,338.94
VENTURE COMMUNICATIONS	966.86
VERIZON WIRELESS	160.04
VERIZON WIRELESS	607.44
WERNER AUTOMOTIVE	54.37
YANKTON COUNTY SHERIFF'S O	50.00

ZONING:

Symens moved, Schuller seconded to approve a 33' variance from the township road setback for Newport Hutterian Brethren to build a solid manure storage building. All members present voted aye.

Schuller moved, Luttrell seconded to approve building permits for the following applicants: Jay Kadoun, Martin Barrett, Lynn & Carmin Wade, Troy Sattler, and Chris Smith. All members present voted aye.

HIGHWAY:

Dustin Hofland, Highway Superintendent and Sandy Dinger, Highway Secretary met with the board to discuss highway department business. Hofland reported that the highway department has been working on blading and finishing up mowing. They are also getting winter equipment ready. The Swanson Bridge (bridge 46-060-200) at the Hickman and Newport Township lines will hopefully be opened tomorrow. This will require 4 stops signs to be installed at this intersection.

Luttrell moved, Symens seconded to declare a pile of metal surplus and sell it as scrap. All members present voted aye.

Lanny Hill retired from the Highway Department effective October 31, 2017.

FUEL QUOTES:

Sandy Dinger received the following quotes for #1 diesel for the Britton and Veblen shops on October 16: DaMar Elevator: Britton-2.25, Veblen-2.48; Eden Oil: Britton-2.24, Veblen-2.45; Holland Bros: Britton-2.40, Veblen-2.39. Diesel fuel was delivered to the Britton shop by Eden Oil and the Veblen shop by Holland Bros.

VETERAN'S SERVICE OFFICER:

Dave Daberkow, VSO, met with the board to give his quarterly report.

4H AND YOUTH PROGRAM:

Jennifer Ringkob, 4H & Youth Program Advisor met with the board to give a quarterly report on 4H activities in Marshall County.

E911:

Deb Skonberg and Cody Sunderland met with the board to give an update on the E911 department. Skonberg reported that the E911 board has declared the County to be in compliance with E911 requirements and will not have funds withheld. Sunderland reported that the new recorder has been installed and is now working.

TRAVEL:

Luttrell moved, Schuller seconded to authorize the following travel expenses: David Nelson, Ron Jarrett and Richard Benda to Stratford for a District Meeting on October 30; Jennifer Ringkob to Aberdeen for an Annual Staff Evaluation October 31; Linda Haaland and Sandy Dinger to Mitchell for a Safety Conference November 8 & 9; Megan Biel, Shelby Beck and Diane Lentsch to Pierre for Election training November 8 & 9. All members present voted aye.

AMBULANCE:

Lori Amerman met with the board to give a quarterly update on the ambulance department. For the months of July-September, the ambulance crew had 53 total ambulance runs.

Symens moved, Luttrell seconded to purchase two TomTom GPS units for the ambulances and three Ferno Defibrillator Mount Kits to secure the defibrillators inside the ambulances. All members present voted aye.

ASSOCIATION MEMBERSHIP:

Symens moved, Schuller seconded to renew Marshall County's membership and pay dues to the South Dakota Association of County Commissioners, the South Dakota Association of County Officials, and the National Association of County Officials. All members present voted aye.

ELECTION SYSTEMS AND SOFTWARE:

Luttrell moved, Symens seconded to authorize the chair to sign the Election Services Agreement between Marshall County and Election Systems and Software, LLC. All members present voted aye.

LEASE AGREEMENT:

Luttrell moved, Symens seconded to authorize the chair to sign the lease agreement between the State of South Dakota and Marshall County for office space for the Game, Fish, and Parks. All members present voted aye.

ADJOURN:

Schuller moved, Luttrell seconded to adjourn. All members present voted aye.

ATTEST:

Doug Medhaug, Chairman

Megan Biel, Auditor

Published once at the total approximate cost of_____.